Sinful by Joan Johnston Blog Tour #Review

Sinful by Joan Johnston
Bitter Creek Series #13
Release Date: April 28, 2015
Genre: Romance
For readers of Linda Lael Miller and Susan Mallery comesNew York Times bestselling author Joan Johnston’s sizzling contemporary Western romance, where power, money, and rivalries rule—and love is the best revenge.

WHILE HE SEEKS A HAVEN,
SHE SEARCHES FOR A PLACE TO CALL HOME

After a tragic accident leaves Delta sergeant Connor Flynn a widower, he faces the toughest fight of his life: battling his in-laws for custody of his two young children. To win he’ll need a make-believe bride to take care of the kids while he runs his Wyoming ranch. Who better than a woman he already knows and likes—his late wife’s best friend?

Ruthlessly forced from her home by her powerful father, King Grayhawk, Eve needs somewhere to go . . . and so does the herd of wild mustangs she’s rescued. Connor’s offer sounds like the answer to a prayer. But Eve has a guilty secret she’s guarded for years: She’s always been in love with Connor.

Now forced to live under the same roof as her heart’s desire, Eve must hide the love that has never died, while Connor vows to resist his growing need for a woman who was forbidden fruit during his marriage. Can two lonely people set adrift by fate and haunted by guilt find redemption in the healing embrace of love?

REVIEW
I received this ARC for free in exchange for an honest review. 

This is a story about a second chance at true love. It has a very Hatfields & McCoys feel to it with the bitter family rivalry that takes place. 
Eve has had a secret crush on Connor since they were teenagers but their family feud kept her from acting on it. She even inadvertently introduced him to his wife. Now that they are living under the same roof, Eve and Connor must both resist their attraction for each other. 
When Connor returns from Afghanistan to a custody battle for his children, he asks his wife’s best friend, Eve, to move in with him to make his children feel more comfortable. Eve’s testimony is what wins him the custody case. However, a social worker is concerned about Eve being single and living with Connor, so they fake an engagement which causes an uproar within their feuding families. 
The emotions and depth of feelings that the author uses will keep you engaged throughout the entire book. There are plenty of subplots and family dysfunctions to keep you entertained as well. 
Rating: 4 stars