Finding Gabriel by Rachel L. Demeter #Review

Title: Finding Gabriel
Author: Rachel L. Demeter

Genre: Historical Romance
Format: eBook (366 pages)

Publisher: Momentum
Publication Date: August 27, 2015

I received an eARC copy of this book from the author in exchange for an honest review. 

Colonel Gabriel de Laurent departed for the war intending to die.

After a decade of bloodstained battlegrounds while fighting in Napoleon’s army, Gabriel returns to the streets of Paris a shattered and haunted soul. Plagued by inner demons, he swallows the barrel of his flintlock pistol and pulls the trigger.

But fate has a different plan.

Ariah Larochelle is a survivor. Orphaned at twelve and victim to a devastating crime, she has learned to keep her back to walls and to trust no one. But when she finds a gravely injured soldier washed up on the River Seine, she’s moved by compassion. In spite of her reservations, she rescues him from the icy water and brings him into her home.

Now scarred inside and out, Gabriel discovers a kindred spirit in Ariah—and feelings he imagined lost forever reawaken as he observes her strength in the face of adversity. But when Ariah’s own lethal secrets unfold, their new love is threatened by ancient ghosts. Can Gabriel and Ariah find hope in the wreckage of their pasts—or will the cycle of history repeat again?

Perfect for fans of Gaelen Foley’s Lord of Ice and Judith James’s Broken WingFinding Gabriel features all the dark romance, searing passion, and historical intrigue of The Phantom of the Opera and Les Misérables.


Review

This is such a beautiful story about love and acceptance. Gabriel has many inner demons that haunt him and to deal with them he chooses to take his own life. Fate intervened and brought Ariah to him. She takes in this stranger and nurses him back to health while dealing with her daughter’s illness. 

Both Gabriel and Ariah have experienced great tragedies in their lifetimes and it was amazing to see how they helped heal each other of the emotional scars they carried. This book definitely felt like a mix between The Phantom of the Opera and Les Miserables with the dark romance. 

I loved the passion and emotion in this book. There were a few times when it was hard not to tear up. I would highly recommend this book. 

Rating: 4.5 stars