The Promise by A.B. Michaels #BlogTour #Review



THE PROMISE: A Story of the Quake by A.B. Michaels

A Sinners Grove Novella

Released June 24th, 2016 from Red Trumpet Press


April 18, 1906. A massive earthquake has decimated much of San Francisco, leaving thousands without food, water or shelter. Patrolling the streets to help those in need, Army corporal Ben Tilson meets a young woman named Charlotte who touches his heart, making him think of a future with her in it. In the heat of the moment he makes a promise to her family that even he realizes will be almost impossible to keep.

Because on the heels of the earthquake, a much worse disaster looms: a fire that threatens to consume everything and everyone in its path.

It will take everything Ben’s got to make it back to the woman he loves—and even that may not be enough.

The Promise, a stand-alone novella, is the latest offering from A.B. Michaels’ multi-genre series “Sinner’s Grove.”



The Promise follows Charlie and Ben in the immediate aftermath of the earthquake in 1906. They meet by chance and it changes their lives forever. As if the earthquake wasn’t bad enough, now there is a fire threatening everything and everyone in its path.

I really enjoyed this book. I felt like I was experiencing everything with the characters and it was suspenseful. I would highly recommend this book to fans of historical fiction.

Rating: 4.5 stars


Born and raised in northern California, A.B. Michaels holds master’s degrees in history and broadcasting, and worked for many years in the public relations and marketing fields. An avid quilter and bocce player, she currently lives in Boise, Idaho with her husband and two furry “sons” who don’t seem to realize they’re just dogs