The Scoundrel and the Lady by Robyn DeHart #Review

The Scoundrel and the Lady by Robyn DeHart #ReviewThe Scoundrel and the Lady by Robyn DeHart
Published by Entangled Publishing on September 25th 2017
Genres: Fiction, Romance, Historical, Regency, General
Pages: 209
Format: eBook
Amazon
Goodreads
four-stars

Iris Bennington is furious when she discovers her younger brother is following the instructions found in the acclaimed advice columns on How to be a Gentleman. The so-called "advice" is more likely to turn her brother into a scoundrel than a true gentleman. Iris decides to locate the author of the columns and confront him.
Merritt Steel, the Earl of Ashby, cannot help but be amused by the slip of a woman who comes calling. Unwilling to let such a delightful potential conquest go, he proposes a wager: bring him anyone off the street and he can pass them off as a gentleman. It's a bargain she readily accepts—but with a twist.
Their bargain proves to be a greater challenge than either anticipated. Merritt finds it near impossible to keep his hands off Iris, and she begins to see the undeniable appeal of ungentlemanly behavior...

Review

Iris has looked after her brother since their parents died right before she was set to make her debut. She’s always put him first so when he returns home from school and starts misbehaving, she makes it her mission to correct his ways. She discovers the cause of his ways to be a series of articles entitled “How to be a Gentleman” written by Merritt, the owner of the newspaper it is published in. She decides to confront him.

Merritt has recently become the Earl of Ashby when a distant relative died and left him the earldom. He is in charge of his younger sister, and needs to find a lady to help with her debut into Society. When Iris confronts him about the newspaper, he makes a wager with her that he can pass off anyone as a gentleman if she can turn his sister into someone the ladies of Society won’t turn on. The more time they spend together, the more scandalous things become. Will Iris be ruined?

I enjoyed this story but there were a few things that threw me off. Iris was raised in society and there is really no indication of a rebellious side to her nature. However, on more than one occasion she allows Merritt to kiss her and each time things go farther than the time before. It’s not behavior that is typical. The storyline is a unique one and I thoroughly enjoyed it and the characters. I look forward to reading more in this series.

four-stars

Emma in the Night by Wendy Walker #Review

Emma in the Night by Wendy Walker #ReviewEmma in the Night by Wendy Walker
Published by St. Martin's Press on August 8th 2017
Genres: Fiction, Thrillers, Suspense, Psychological
Pages: 320
Amazon
Goodreads
four-stars

"Both twisted and twisty, this smart psychological thriller sets a new standard for unreliable narrators." –Booklist, Starred Review
One night three years ago, the Tanner sisters disappeared: fifteen-year-old Cass and seventeen-year-old Emma. Three years later, Cass returns, without her sister Emma. Her story is one of kidnapping and betrayal, of a mysterious island where the two were held. But to forensic psychiatrist Dr. Abby Winter, something doesn't add up. Looking deep within this dysfunctional family Dr. Winter uncovers a life where boundaries were violated and a narcissistic parent held sway. And where one sister's return might just be the beginning of the crime.
Bestselling author Wendy Walker returns with another winning thriller, Emma in the Night.

Review

Two sisters, Emma and Cass, go missing one night without a trace. There is literally no evidence of what could have possibly happened to Cass and the only thing found of Emma’s is her car and a pair of flip flops at the beach. Three years go by without any answers and the case has gone cold when suddenly Cass shows up on her mother’s doorstep. Thus begins a tale of the events leading up to that night and what Cass says happened during the three years she was gone. Dr. Winter, the forensic psychologist, working the case knows something isn’t right with Cass’s story but she can’t tell exactly what it is. When all the pieces finally come together, will they be able to find Emma?

Emma in the Night is the first book I have read by Wendy Walker. I really enjoyed the writing style and narration of the book. It is told from the POV of both Cass and Dr. Winter and is told through stories of what happened more so than flashbacks so we don’t really get to experience the emotions as they happen. There is a lot of detail about narcissistic personality disorder and the relationships of a narcissist to their family. Overall, I really enjoyed it even though it was slow in places. I look forward to reading more from this author.

four-stars

Rebel by Rebecca Yarros #Review

Rebel by Rebecca Yarros #ReviewRebel by Rebecca Yarros
Published by Entangled Publishing on August 28th 2017
Genres: Fiction, Romance, New Adult, General, Contemporary Women, Sports
Pages: 478
Format: eBook
Amazon
Goodreads
four-stars

She’s Penna Carstairs. The Renegade they call Rebel. FMX-treme Magazine’s sexiest female athlete of the year.There’s no rule in extreme sports she hasn’t broken,No gender barrier she hasn’t demolished.
She’s the woman I met in a bar in Vegas.The woman I illegally BASE jumped for.The woman I spent one insane, incredible night with.But now I’m screwed.Or rather...not screwed.
Because the woman I can’t get out of my head is the one woman I can never touch again.I’m Dr. Cruz Delgado—the youngest professor on this campus,And Penelope Carstairs just walked into my class.
Each book in The Renegades series is a standalone story that can be enjoyed out of order. Series Order:Book #1 WilderBook #2 NovaBook #3 Rebel

Review

Rebel is book 3 in The Renegades series by Rebecca Yarros. I am a huge fan of her writing because she hits you right in the feels every time.

Rebel is the only girl in a group of daredevils and she is a bad ass. She has defied all gender barriers and doesn’t let anything hold her back. Cruz is a man she met a bar and had a fling with. He is irresistibly hot with lickable abs and he doesn’t let her dangerous job get in the way of his feelings for her. He doesn’t tell her she has to quit. The only thing that really stands in their way is the fact that he’s her professor making their romance forbidden.

I seriously didn’t want this story to end and I am sad that it is the last book in this series. I have loved this series so much!

four-stars

Untold by Shannon Richard #ReleaseBlitz

Untold by Shannon Richard #ReleaseBlitzUntold by Shannon Richard
Published by Grand Central Publishing on September 5th 2017
Genres: Fiction, Romance, Contemporary, Coming of Age, Contemporary Women
Pages: 400
Format: eBook
Amazon//B&N//iBooks//Google Play//Kobo
Goodreads

SOMETIMES LOVE HAS A PLAN OF ITS OWN . . .
Brie Davis came to Mirabelle, Florida, for one thing: the funeral of her birth mother-a woman she never had a chance to know. Now Brie must sort through her mother's life to get the answers she was denied. She plans to leave as soon as she can . . . except the sexy veterinarian makes Brie's pulse beat faster than she's willing to admit.
Finn Shepherd knows Brie's only in town for a short while, but he can't stay away. Instead he finds himself looking for more reasons to keep her close. Finn's already had his fair share of heartbreak, yet Brie makes him want to take that risk again. Now all Finn has to do is convince her to take a chance on him . . . before she disappears from his life forever.
Look for more books in the Country Roads series!UndoneUndeniableUnstoppableUnforgettableUndressedUnsungUncontrollable

Find the Author: Website, Blog, Twitter, Facebook, Amazon, Instagram

Excerpt

“Are you leaving soon?”

“In a bit. I want to see the end of the game.”

“Really now?” He leaned in close to her again. And for what was probably the fiftieth time that night she could smell the clean masculine scent that clung to him. Soap and maybe a little aftershave combined with him. He smelled incredible.

So. Damn. Good.

“Yeah, I’m a Stampede fan now. I’m in it to win it.” She couldn’t stop herself from leaning in a bit closer herself.

“Commitment, I like it.”

“Yeah?”

“Yeah.” His smile grew and his eyes got more intense, the blue getting deeper. “It’s not the only thing I like either.”

“What else do you like?” Her voice dropped low as she spoke. Oh God, the more time she spent with him, the more he affected her. The closer he got to her, the more he affected her. The more he looked at her, the more he affected her.

He just affected her.

“About you? The list keeps growing, and growing. Give me twenty minutes and I’d be happy to tell you about it. In great detail.”

Her stomach flipped and the air in her lungs caught. This time her inability to breath had nothing to do with suffocating pressure. “What happens in twenty minutes?” She somehow managed to ask.

“The game is over.” He turned just a little bit so he could incline his head toward the TV, not taking his eyes off of her while he did it.

“You don’t need to stay here? Until closing?”

“Nope, just came in to help with the rush during the game. I’m free after that.”

“Right,” she nodded slowly, her stomach doing a summersault. “And if I said yes? What happens then?”

He moved back so that he was standing directly in front of her again, leaning in close. The nearness of him combined with the way he was looking at her and the topic of conversation—that she was 99.9% sure was one about them having sex—was making her pulse race. And that wasn’t the only thing he was doing to her. It was taking everything in her not to squirm in her seat. She somehow managed to subtly press her thighs together. It was all she could do to combat the swelling ache.

 

About Shannon Richard

Shannon Richard grew up in the Florida Panhandle as the baby sister of two overly protective but loving brothers. She was raised by a more than somewhat eccentric mother, a self-proclaimed vocabularist who showed her how to get lost in a book and a father who passed on his love for coffee and really loud music. She graduated from Florida State University with a BA in English Literature and still lives in Tallahassee where she battles everyday life with writing, reading, and a rant every once in a while. Okay, so the rants might happen on a regular basis. She's still waiting for her Southern, scruffy, Mr. Darcy, and in the meantime writes love stories to indulge her overactive imagination. Oh, and she's a pretty big fan of the whimsy.

A Love to Remember by Bronwen Evans #Review

A Love to Remember by Bronwen Evans #ReviewA Love to Remember by Bronwen Evans
Published by Random House Publishing Group on August 29th 2017
Genres: Fiction, Romance, Historical, Regency, Victorian, Suspense
Pages: 216
Format: eBook
Amazon
Goodreads
five-stars

A fiercely independent duchess and a brooding, reclusive earl are tested by the demands of desire in this unforgettable romance from the USA Today bestselling author of A Kiss of Lies and A Night of Forever.
For Rose Deverill, one husband was enough. As the wealthy widow of the Duke of Roxborough, she has cultivated an unsavory reputation meant to discourage wife hunters. Thanks to a string of steamy affairs, Rose is perfectly content to be known by polite society as the “Wicked Widow”—until she’s reunited with the man she fell in love with at age fifteen. Their bedroom encounters are scorching, but it breaks Rose’s heart to wonder whether her reckless behavior ruined her for Philip Flagstaff.
The second son of the Earl of Cumberland, Philip never wanted the title. But after Philip’s older brother, Robert, follows him into the Battle of Waterloo, his worst fears come to pass. Now Robert lies in a soldier’s grave, and Philip is determined never to pass on the inheritance to children of his own. Then Rose appears, soothing the pain with her delightful curves and passionate kisses. The notorious Duchess seems to want nothing from him—and yet Philip has never ached to give a woman more.
Don’t miss any of Bronwen Evans’s enchanting Disgraced Lords novels: A KISS OF LIES | A PROMISE OF MORE | A TOUCH OF PASSION | A WHISPER OF DESIRE | A TASTE OF SEDUCTION | A NIGHT OF FOREVER | ADDICTED TO THE DUKE | A LOVE TO REMEMBER
Advance praise for A Love to Remember
A Love to Remember by Bronwen Evans is an awesome read. Ms. Evans has gifted historical romance fans with yet another amazing story.”—Debjonesdiem
“I really loved this book.”—A Crazy Vermonter’s Book Reviews
“Sizzling romance and page-turning suspense make a read not to be missed! Loved it!”—Maeve Greyson, author of the Highland Heart Series
“With its complex characters, suspenseful plot, and steamy passion, Bronwen Evans’s A Love to Remember should not be missed. Readers will fall in love with Rose and Philip and stay up way past bedtime to cheer for their happily ever after.”—Shana Galen, bestselling author of I Kissed a Rogue
Includes an excerpt from another Loveswept title.

Review

A Love to Remember is book 7 in the Disgraced Lords series by Bronwen Evans although it can be read as a standalone. I’ve skipped around this series and have only read 4 books so far but I love these characters.

This is the story of Rose and Phillip. Rose was married at the age of 18 to her father’s friend, the Duke of Roxborough. He was more than twice her age and to say she was glad when he died would be an understatement. The one good thing that came from that marriage was her son, Drake. She has no desire to remarry and is known to the ton as the Wicked Widow. The one man who could change her mind about marriage is her lover of two years and childhood friend, Phillip.

Phillip, the Earl of Cumberland, lives with a lot of guilt since his brother, Robert, died taking a sword that was meant for him. He blames himself for Robert’s commission in the army and takes a vow to let the Earldom pass to his younger brother by never marrying or producing an heir. When Rose admits she wants more or their affair must end, he is torn. He wants to be with Rose but not in marriage. When Drake’s life is threatened, will he realize that maybe he has been too hard on himself and that he indeed loves Rose? Or will it be too late?

I love this series and Bronwen Evan’s writing. This is exactly what I’ve come to expect from the Libertine Scholars and I love devouring their stories. I say devour because so far I have read them all in one sitting. I look forward to reading the rest of this series and I might even re-read them all in order one day.

five-stars

How to Marry a Marquess by Stacey Reid #Review

How to Marry a Marquess by Stacey Reid #ReviewHow to Marry a Marquess by Stacy Reid
Series: Wedded by Scandal #3
Published by Entangled Publishing on August 14th 2017
Genres: Fiction, Romance, Historical, Regency, General
Pages: 279
Format: eBook
Amazon
Goodreads
four-stars

Lady Evie Chesterfield is a darling of the ton who refuses to become engaged. She's been desperately in love with her brother's friend, Richard Maitland, Marquess of Westfall, since forever. But the dark, dangerous marquess only sees her as a friend and refuses to marry any woman. When circumstances change and Evie has no choice but to take a husband, she decides to convince London's most notorious gentleman to marry her by seducing the scoundrel.
Richard Maitland decided long ago that he wanted nothing to do with love. So when the gorgeous, off-limits Evie asks him for lessons in seduction, Richard knows he's playing with fire. Despite Richard's determination to protect her from his dastardly reputation, he is tested at every turn by his need for the infuriating, but enticing, Lady Evie. Before too long he is faced with making an impossible choice...
Each book in the Wedded by Scandal series is a standalone story that can be enjoyed out of order. Series Order:Book #1 Accidentally Compromising the DukeBook #2 Wicked in His ArmsBook #3 How to Marry a Marquess

Find the Author: Website, Twitter, Facebook, Goodreads, Pinterest

Review

How to Marry a Marquess is the third book in the Wedded by Scandal series by Stacy Reid. I really enjoyed this book and the characters. Evie is 16 and Richard, 24 when we first meet them. Evie is distraught about the affections of an old Duke when Richard finds her. It was a humorous scene since Evie was puking and Richard covered it with a shovel.

Evie is being pushed to marry and she wants to marry Richard. He has been burned by women in the past and betrayed by one he loved and he has no intentions to marry. He surprises the ton when he discovers he has a daughter and moves her into his estate to take care of her. That just wasn’t done during those times and he is afraid that Evie won’t accept his daughter. Basically, they both have feelings for the other but neither thinks the other feels the same.

I loved that this book had a more modernish feel to it for a historical romance. It always makes me happy to see the characters defy what the ton expects of them and this book was very enjoyable because of that. I look forward to reading more in this series.

four-stars

The Billionaire Wins the Game by Melody Anne #Review

The Billionaire Wins the Game by Melody Anne #ReviewThe Billionaire Wins the Game by Melody Anne
Published by Gossamer Publishing on May 28th 2012
Genres: Fiction, Romance, Contemporary
Pages: 304
Length: 7 hrs, 5 min
Format: eBook, Audiobook
Amazon
Goodreads
three-half-stars

 ALL NEWLY PUBLISHED WITH DELETED SCENES AND AN ADDITIONAL 25 THOUSAND WORDS. SEE THE FIRST BOOK OF THE ANDERSON SERIES.

"As the first book in the Billionaire Bachelors series, Melody Anne makes a great first impression with The Billionaire Wins the Game leaving readers craving for more."
"I am already recommending to friends, peers, and acquaintances. The Billionaire Wins the Game has received two thumbs up from me for sure. As a pondering point, I think it would make an interesting story line for a movie as well."The Billionaire Wins the Game (Billionaire Bachelors)
To read the full review please check out: http://www.squidoo.com/a-review-of-the-billionaire-wins-the-game-by-melody-anne - Andrea Fuentes (TopArticlesToday.com Contributor) 

A NIGHT OWL REVIEWS BOOK REVIEW 4.5 Stars | Reviewed by: Millarda 
I really liked this book and it is a keeper. It exhibits the dilemma of letting go of what you know and embracing the opportunity for love and happiness. It is very well written and constructed. The characters mature nicely throughout this book. You can easily visualize what you are reading.
The dialogue is easy to understand. There is a lot of tension and conflict between Lucas and Amy. Lucas’ father wanted his son to find happiness and love. Lucas wasn’t ready for any type of change in his life. Lucas liked living with no attachments and wanted to keep it that way, little did he know his father already had other plans. He knew he wanted grandchildren while he could still play with them. If that was going to happen he had to do something.

Joseph Anderson has decided it's time for his three successful sons to find brides. Joseph wants grandchildren to fill his mansion, and he wants them immediately. His eldest son, Lucas, is successful in all areas of his life, except love, and Joseph begins matchmaking. He finds Amy Harper and deems her the perfect daughter-in-law. He just needs to get her and Lucas to both realize they're made for each other. 

Lucas Anderson is wealthy, sexy, and stubborn. He has no desire to have any woman enter his life, causing chaos, or using his family's name. Many women have tried, and he's been successful in finding out who they are beneath their false smiles. 

Amy Harper was raised in tragic circumstances and doesn't like pampered, rich men who have been handed everything with a silver spoon. She spent years finishing her education and then received a job with the Anderson Corporation. She instantly doesn't like her incredibly sexy boss, who is arrogant and thinks every woman should fall at his feet. 

When Amy becomes pregnant after one reckless night of passion, she's scared he'll take the baby and run. Lucas is demanding, and used to getting his way, but Amy has just the right amount of spark to ignite his fuse, and challenges him each step of the way. 

Lucas's father, Joseph, and his brothers Alex and Mark, offer laughter, love, and support. With the love of Lucas's family, who aren't only rich and successful, but also kind and giving, Amy starts to realize that being wealthy doesn't make or break a man, and starts to picture the happily ever after she never believed in for herself.

Review
The Billionaire Wins the Game is a quick read that is very light hearted. I enjoyed it even though it was very predictable and somewhat cliche.
Joseph Anderson wants nothing more than to be surrounded by grandchildren. His three sons have never had serious relationships and don’t seem to want to settle down so he decides it’s time to mettle in their lives a little. Lucas is his oldest son and he took over the family business after Joseph retired. He hires Amy as Lucas’s new Executive Assistant and hopes sparks will fly between them. Both Lucas and Amy are uncomfortable with the attraction between them because of their work environment but one night, Lucas decides to give in to temptation. The next day he acts indifferent so Amy decides to act the same. But of course, she finds out she is pregnant. How will Lucas react?
This book is funny. I have both the ebook and the audiobook versions so I alternated between reading and listening. The narrator does an excellent job and her voice really helps the story. Every time a couple doesn’t use a condom in a book, I cringe because what do they expect to happen. I didn’t care for Lucas at first because of his attitude in general but once he let that go I liked him. Amy is an okay character but I didn’t love her. There are a few inconsistencies in the writing but they weren’t too horrendous. Overall, this is good read for just zoning out.
three-half-stars

A Love So Dangerous by Lili Valente #Review

A Love So Dangerous by Lili Valente #ReviewA Love so Dangerous by Lili Valente
Published by Self Taught Ninja on August 29th 2016
Genres: Fiction, Romance, Suspense
Pages: 256
Format: eBook
Amazon
Goodreads
four-half-stars

Warning: This is one dark, dangerous, dirty-talking, adrenaline-fueled thrill ride. Are you ready?
I’ve got a big c*ck, a bigger bank account, and zero interest in Happily Ever After. I just want to feel alive, to look into a woman’s eyes and see something that’s going to keep my mind off all the shit I refuse to think about for an hour or two.
And then I meet her, a good girl with a body made for sin and ugly problems only a bad man can fix.
A bad man like me…
Gabe Alexander is the devil. Or an angel.
He’s a criminal hiding behind a millionaire dollar pedigree, but he also saved my life and my family. He’s the worst kind of bad news, but every time he touches me, and whispers filthy, beautiful things in my ear, all I want is more.
More of his kiss, his touch, and the dangerous, seductive things he makes me feel.
I don’t want to go bad, but the man makes it feel so damned good…
Warning Part the Second: A Love So Dangerous is the first in a three part series. It is a full-length novel that ends in a cliffhanger. It was formerly published as One Wild Night and This Wicked Rush by Jessie Evans.
Praise for the To the Bone series: 
"A steamy, high-octane love story that will have you wondering how far you'd go if you stopped playing by the rules." –NYT Bestseller Lauren Blakely
"WOW, just WOW! I'm screaming...right now because I need the next book, like yesterday...I am truly blown away." -Romance Readers Retreat Blog
“Well written with a heart breaking story, adorable and irresistible characters…the kind of books you do not forget and keep a paperback of, to re-read time after time!!!! I was crying like a baby or smiling like a lunatic!!!” –Moon Reviews 

“I loved it and you will too. I read the series twice in record time. I’m still thinking of it weeks later…[Lili Valente] is a story teller we romantics dream of.” -Books and Beyond Fifty Shades

Review
 Caitlyn is young and extremely stressed out. She dropped out of high school and is now raising her three younger brothers and 3-year-old niece since her mom and sister bailed and her dad is a drunk. She is about to lose it all too. On the night of her 20th birthday, she goes out dancing with her friend. She loses herself in the music and finds herself grinding on an old classmate, Gabe. Gabe comes from a very wealthy family and doesn’t really understand why Caitlyn “enables” her parents and sister. He decides that he wants to help her out and talks her into being Maid Marian to his Robin Hood. Things heat up between them fast but will it last?
I loved this book! I really feel for Caitlyn and how stressed out she is all the time. Raising 1 kid at the age of 20 is hard enough but 4 is tremendously difficult. When Gabe offers to help her out I wasn’t surprised at the form of the offer. He just had a bad boy vibe from the get go so his thievery fit. The reasons he was doing it was a little surprising though.
This book ends on a cliffhanger so I’m waiting in suspense for the next book. It’s been a while since I read a book with a cliffhanger that made me want to read the next book so I enjoyed that. I can’t wait to see what Lili Valente has in store for the characters next!
four-half-stars