The Scoundrel and the Lady by Robyn DeHart #Review

The Scoundrel and the Lady by Robyn DeHart #ReviewThe Scoundrel and the Lady by Robyn DeHart
Published by Entangled Publishing on September 25th 2017
Genres: Fiction, Romance, Historical, Regency, General
Pages: 209
Format: eBook
Amazon
Goodreads
four-stars

Iris Bennington is furious when she discovers her younger brother is following the instructions found in the acclaimed advice columns on How to be a Gentleman. The so-called "advice" is more likely to turn her brother into a scoundrel than a true gentleman. Iris decides to locate the author of the columns and confront him.
Merritt Steel, the Earl of Ashby, cannot help but be amused by the slip of a woman who comes calling. Unwilling to let such a delightful potential conquest go, he proposes a wager: bring him anyone off the street and he can pass them off as a gentleman. It's a bargain she readily accepts—but with a twist.
Their bargain proves to be a greater challenge than either anticipated. Merritt finds it near impossible to keep his hands off Iris, and she begins to see the undeniable appeal of ungentlemanly behavior...

Review

Iris has looked after her brother since their parents died right before she was set to make her debut. She’s always put him first so when he returns home from school and starts misbehaving, she makes it her mission to correct his ways. She discovers the cause of his ways to be a series of articles entitled “How to be a Gentleman” written by Merritt, the owner of the newspaper it is published in. She decides to confront him.

Merritt has recently become the Earl of Ashby when a distant relative died and left him the earldom. He is in charge of his younger sister, and needs to find a lady to help with her debut into Society. When Iris confronts him about the newspaper, he makes a wager with her that he can pass off anyone as a gentleman if she can turn his sister into someone the ladies of Society won’t turn on. The more time they spend together, the more scandalous things become. Will Iris be ruined?

I enjoyed this story but there were a few things that threw me off. Iris was raised in society and there is really no indication of a rebellious side to her nature. However, on more than one occasion she allows Merritt to kiss her and each time things go farther than the time before. It’s not behavior that is typical. The storyline is a unique one and I thoroughly enjoyed it and the characters. I look forward to reading more in this series.

four-stars

A Love to Remember by Bronwen Evans #Review

A Love to Remember by Bronwen Evans #ReviewA Love to Remember by Bronwen Evans
Published by Random House Publishing Group on August 29th 2017
Genres: Fiction, Romance, Historical, Regency, Victorian, Suspense
Pages: 216
Format: eBook
Amazon
Goodreads
five-stars

A fiercely independent duchess and a brooding, reclusive earl are tested by the demands of desire in this unforgettable romance from the USA Today bestselling author of A Kiss of Lies and A Night of Forever.
For Rose Deverill, one husband was enough. As the wealthy widow of the Duke of Roxborough, she has cultivated an unsavory reputation meant to discourage wife hunters. Thanks to a string of steamy affairs, Rose is perfectly content to be known by polite society as the “Wicked Widow”—until she’s reunited with the man she fell in love with at age fifteen. Their bedroom encounters are scorching, but it breaks Rose’s heart to wonder whether her reckless behavior ruined her for Philip Flagstaff.
The second son of the Earl of Cumberland, Philip never wanted the title. But after Philip’s older brother, Robert, follows him into the Battle of Waterloo, his worst fears come to pass. Now Robert lies in a soldier’s grave, and Philip is determined never to pass on the inheritance to children of his own. Then Rose appears, soothing the pain with her delightful curves and passionate kisses. The notorious Duchess seems to want nothing from him—and yet Philip has never ached to give a woman more.
Don’t miss any of Bronwen Evans’s enchanting Disgraced Lords novels: A KISS OF LIES | A PROMISE OF MORE | A TOUCH OF PASSION | A WHISPER OF DESIRE | A TASTE OF SEDUCTION | A NIGHT OF FOREVER | ADDICTED TO THE DUKE | A LOVE TO REMEMBER
Advance praise for A Love to Remember
A Love to Remember by Bronwen Evans is an awesome read. Ms. Evans has gifted historical romance fans with yet another amazing story.”—Debjonesdiem
“I really loved this book.”—A Crazy Vermonter’s Book Reviews
“Sizzling romance and page-turning suspense make a read not to be missed! Loved it!”—Maeve Greyson, author of the Highland Heart Series
“With its complex characters, suspenseful plot, and steamy passion, Bronwen Evans’s A Love to Remember should not be missed. Readers will fall in love with Rose and Philip and stay up way past bedtime to cheer for their happily ever after.”—Shana Galen, bestselling author of I Kissed a Rogue
Includes an excerpt from another Loveswept title.

Review

A Love to Remember is book 7 in the Disgraced Lords series by Bronwen Evans although it can be read as a standalone. I’ve skipped around this series and have only read 4 books so far but I love these characters.

This is the story of Rose and Phillip. Rose was married at the age of 18 to her father’s friend, the Duke of Roxborough. He was more than twice her age and to say she was glad when he died would be an understatement. The one good thing that came from that marriage was her son, Drake. She has no desire to remarry and is known to the ton as the Wicked Widow. The one man who could change her mind about marriage is her lover of two years and childhood friend, Phillip.

Phillip, the Earl of Cumberland, lives with a lot of guilt since his brother, Robert, died taking a sword that was meant for him. He blames himself for Robert’s commission in the army and takes a vow to let the Earldom pass to his younger brother by never marrying or producing an heir. When Rose admits she wants more or their affair must end, he is torn. He wants to be with Rose but not in marriage. When Drake’s life is threatened, will he realize that maybe he has been too hard on himself and that he indeed loves Rose? Or will it be too late?

I love this series and Bronwen Evan’s writing. This is exactly what I’ve come to expect from the Libertine Scholars and I love devouring their stories. I say devour because so far I have read them all in one sitting. I look forward to reading the rest of this series and I might even re-read them all in order one day.

five-stars

How to Marry a Marquess by Stacey Reid #Review

How to Marry a Marquess by Stacey Reid #ReviewHow to Marry a Marquess by Stacy Reid
Series: Wedded by Scandal #3
Published by Entangled Publishing on August 14th 2017
Genres: Fiction, Romance, Historical, Regency, General
Pages: 279
Format: eBook
Amazon
Goodreads
four-stars

Lady Evie Chesterfield is a darling of the ton who refuses to become engaged. She's been desperately in love with her brother's friend, Richard Maitland, Marquess of Westfall, since forever. But the dark, dangerous marquess only sees her as a friend and refuses to marry any woman. When circumstances change and Evie has no choice but to take a husband, she decides to convince London's most notorious gentleman to marry her by seducing the scoundrel.
Richard Maitland decided long ago that he wanted nothing to do with love. So when the gorgeous, off-limits Evie asks him for lessons in seduction, Richard knows he's playing with fire. Despite Richard's determination to protect her from his dastardly reputation, he is tested at every turn by his need for the infuriating, but enticing, Lady Evie. Before too long he is faced with making an impossible choice...
Each book in the Wedded by Scandal series is a standalone story that can be enjoyed out of order. Series Order:Book #1 Accidentally Compromising the DukeBook #2 Wicked in His ArmsBook #3 How to Marry a Marquess

Find the Author: Website, Twitter, Facebook, Goodreads, Pinterest

Review

How to Marry a Marquess is the third book in the Wedded by Scandal series by Stacy Reid. I really enjoyed this book and the characters. Evie is 16 and Richard, 24 when we first meet them. Evie is distraught about the affections of an old Duke when Richard finds her. It was a humorous scene since Evie was puking and Richard covered it with a shovel.

Evie is being pushed to marry and she wants to marry Richard. He has been burned by women in the past and betrayed by one he loved and he has no intentions to marry. He surprises the ton when he discovers he has a daughter and moves her into his estate to take care of her. That just wasn’t done during those times and he is afraid that Evie won’t accept his daughter. Basically, they both have feelings for the other but neither thinks the other feels the same.

I loved that this book had a more modernish feel to it for a historical romance. It always makes me happy to see the characters defy what the ton expects of them and this book was very enjoyable because of that. I look forward to reading more in this series.

four-stars

An Earl by Any Other Name by Lauren Smith #ReleaseBlitz

An Earl by Any Other Name by Lauren Smith #ReleaseBlitzAn Earl by Any Other Name by Lauren Smith
Published by Forever Yours on August 1, 2017
Genres: Historical, Romance
Pages: 164
Format: eBook
Amazon//B&N//iBooks//Google Play//Kobo
Goodreads

An earl in the streets, a rogue in the sheets . . .

Leopold Graham, Lord Hampton, was never a man to let propriety stand in the way of his pursuit of pleasure. Hedonism is his only desire in life---until his father's death saddles him with debts that threaten to bankrupt the entire family. Now the only thing that stands between him and utter ruin is marriage to a proper, and preferably wealthy, young lady.

Ivy Leighton is no sweet English rose. Perhaps it's her gypsy roots, but she would rather make a spectacle of her independent spirit than sit quietly on the sidelines. If that means that the only place she'll ever have in society is firmly on the shelf, then so be it. But when Ivy runs into the handsome, rakish Leo who's looking for a respectable, well-bred wife, she can't stop thinking about the troubles they can get into. Now she just has to convince him that a life with her is really what he needs.

Find the Author: Website, Twitter, Facebook, Amazon

Excerpt

     Without so much as another word, he bent his head. When their mouths were an inch apart, he captured her gaze, and something wild and hot passed between them as he slanted his mouth over hers. All worries and fears were destroyed in the wake of pleasure and fire.

Heat and light burned through at that single kiss, like tender sparks shooting through the night over a healthy fire. A little moan escaped her as he teased her mouth open with his tongue. One of his hands grasped her hip, holding her firm between him and the tree as he pressed against her. The heady aroma of autumn leaves, leather, and sandalwood sent her senses spinning.

With gentle kisses and a wicked tongue, he taught her all the ways she’d longed to kiss. It was the sort of kiss the upstairs maids whispered about, the kind that made a woman lose her head… and her heart.

     This is a terrible idea. I should stop him…but… The will to break the kiss faded like morning mist. Once upon a time, there had been nothing more she had wanted in her life, a kiss from her sunny-haired prince. But she’d changed; she’d grown up and a man’s kiss shouldn’t have been so potent that it cast a spell over her. Yet, Leo’s kiss was exactly that, a spell that bound her to him in a way she feared would break her heart.

He nipped her lips, and she felt his mouth curve into a smile against hers before he finally drew back. His eyes were dark with passion, and his breathing was rough and warm against her face. Their bodies were so close, the intimacy making her feel like there was nothing outside of them in that moment.

“Why do I have the feeling you are going to be trouble, Miss Leighton?” Leo chuckled, suddenly drawing a fingertip down her nose and tapping it lightly, the way he had so often all those years ago.

“Trouble?” she echoed faintly. Still shaken by her first kiss and the shivery warmth spreading through her limbs, she dared not move for fear of falling. Love was dangerous; love ruined a woman’s dreams. And Leo was the one man who could tempt her into falling in love.

“Oh yes. Just when I have everything planned, you come along and remind me of why I used to be so wicked.” He bent, feathered one last kiss to her lips before he took her arm in his and escorted her back to the house.

Ivy did not look at him. She felt changed. Their secret moment had awakened her and melted whatever defenses she’d thought she’d built again his charm. How was she ever going to think clearly when all she wanted to do was relive that kiss? The carefully crafted battlements around her heart quivered, trembled, the walls crumbling.

Oh dear…

About Lauren Smith

LAUREN SMITH, winner of the 2014 Historical International Digital Award, attended Oklahoma State University, where she earned a B.A. in both history and political science. Drawn to paintings and museums, Lauren is obsessed with antiques and satisfies her fascination with history by writing and exploring exotic, ancient lands. She is currently an attorney in Tulsa, Oklahoma.

Giveaway

Enter to win 1 of 15 free ebook downloads of An Earl by Any Other Namehttp://bit.ly/2t56MZl

 

When a Rake Falls by Sally Orr #Review

When a Rake Falls by Sally Orr #ReviewWhen a Rake Falls by Sally Orr
Published by Sourcebooks Casablanca on April 7th 2015
Genres: Historical, Romance
Pages: 320
Format: eBook
Amazon
Goodreads
three-stars

To win a race to Paris, dashing Lord Boyce Parker hires a balloon. He expects to be crowned the victor and become famous for his courage and intelligence. Only then can he regain his father’s respect from the scandal of publishing the naughty book The Rake’s Handbook: Including Field Guide.
Bluestocking Miss Eve Mountfloy makes a bargain with the handsome Pink of the Ton. She’ll fly the balloon during the dangerous crossing to France, if he lets her finish her scientific experiments to predict violent storms and thereby save lives.
Eve proceeds with her studies, but the results are not what she expected. Chafing to keep warm creates unusual sensations everywhere. Then when Lord Parker asks if she is curious about the heat generated by a kiss, well, she is curious. It seems Lord Parker is performing experiments of his own that will forever change Eve’s perception of the word "results."

Review
 When a Rake Falls is the first book by Sally Orr I have read. I must say that I wasn’t all that impressed. I liked Boyce and Eve but this story was lacking continuity. There were times where it was really hard to follow what was happening and it got confusing. There is a lot of scientific talk in the middle of the story that in my opinion takes away from the story. I’m all for science and talking about science but it didn’t help this book out. I love that Eve is a female scientist and that Boyce helped her with her experiments. However, I think there was too much detail focused on those and not enough elsewhere. I got really bored halfway through and probably should have just given up but I don’t like not finishing a book.
three-stars

Forget Me Not by Allison Whitmore #BlogTour #Review

Forget Me Not by Allison Whitmore #BlogTour #Review

Forget Me Not by Allison Whitmore #BlogTour #ReviewForget Me Not by Allison Whitmore
Published by Booktrope Editions on September 15th 2015
Genres: Historical, Romance, Young Adult
Pages: 368
Format: eBook
Amazon
Goodreads
four-half-stars

Theodora "Teddi" Donovan and Calvin Wynne have always hated each other. They didn't have a choice after Teddi's bootlegger father killed Calvin's and left them both orphaned. The scandal has fueled gossip in quiet, quaint Brookhurst, New York, for over a decade. When a friendship develops between them as teenagers, they are ridiculed and shunned by the strict society that dictates life in their town. As they grow older, friendship turns into love, and Teddi and Calvin have to choose between their future and the scepter of their past. Spanning continents and decades, Forget Me Not is a coming-of-age story about truth, self-reliance, and the freeing power of love.

Find the Author: Website, Twitter, Facebook, Goodreads
Review
Forget Me Not is set in the time of the second world war. I love reading books that have that part of history in them. Overall, it spans a couple of decades and has quite a bit of history in it.
Teddi’s father killed Calvin’s father when they were young. However, as teenagers Teddi and Calvin became really good friends. This friendship eventually turned into love. Back during this time, everyone held grudges so Teddi and Calvin face a lot ridicule because of their relationship. This story shows how secrets can destroy everything but it also is about friends and family.
I look forward to reading more from Allison Whitmore.

About Allison Whitmore

Allison Whitmore started her first novel, Forget Me Not, one icy morning in her dorm room in Southampton, NY. After many years of teaching high school English, she came back to the novel to rewrite it. Allison comes from a family who loves history and enjoyed immersing herself in the research that brought Teddi and Calvin’s world to life. She lives in her hometown, Los Angeles, California. You can find her on Twitter @alli_whitmore and her website: allisonwhitmore.com.

four-half-stars

A Common Scandal by Amanda Weaver #BlogTour #Review

A Common Scandal by Amanda Weaver #BlogTour #Review

A Common Scandal by Amanda Weaver #BlogTour #ReviewA Common Scandal by Amanda Weaver
Series: The Grantham Girls #2
Published by Carina Press on May 30th 2016
Genres: Historical, Romance
Pages: 230
Format: eBook
Amazon//B&N//iBooks//Google Play//Kobo
Goodreads
four-stars

Finishing school taught Amelia Wheeler how to put on a well-mannered performance—when she’s not bored and looking for trouble. Lady Grantham’s is behind her and now it's time for Amelia to keep her promise to her dying mother: marry a title and leave her wild days behind.

That promise would be much easier to keep if Nate Smythe hadn’t just reappeared in a London ballroom. The son of an impoverished sailor, Nate—Natty, as he used to be called—has grown up to become handsome, rich and polished. He claims to be looking for a proper bride who can advance his business interests, but that doesn’t stop him from seeking out Amelia every chance he gets. Challenging her. Kissing her.

Suddenly, struggling against her simmering passion is the least of Amelia's problems—one of her titled suitors is hiding a desperate secret that could stop Amelia from pleasing her parents or finding happiness with Nate. As a weeklong house party threatens to derail her hard-won future, Amelia must decide: fight against disaster or act like the lady she's promised to become?

Find the Author: Website, Blog, Twitter, Facebook, Goodreads
Review
A Common Scandal is book 2 of the Grantham Girls series, however, I had no problem reading it as a standalone. (I haven’t read book 1 yet. It seems I always start series in the middle.)
Amelia’s father made his fortune in manufacturing. This means according to society, that they have low origins and while they are tolerated in the upper class because of their money, they are also looked down upon because the money was earned and not inherited. I loved this aspect of the book especially since it’s not in the historical romances I normally read. I love how Amelia handles herself during all the gossiping and snickering that goes on about her.
Amelia has been friends with Nate since they were little but he left to go find his own fortune when he was 15. Now Amelia is on her third season and determined to make it her last. Nate shows up and intends to marry another woman but the chemistry between these two is undeniable. True love always wins.
I really enjoyed this book and look forward to more in this series.

About Amanda Weaver

Amanda Weaver has loved romance since she read that very first Kathleen E. Woodiwiss novel at fifteen. After a long detour into a career as a costume designer in theatre, she’s found her way back to romance, this time as a writer.
A native Floridian, Amanda transplanted to New York City many years ago and now considers Brooklyn home, along with her husband, daughter, two cats, and nowhere near enough space.

four-stars

Closer to Sin by Elizabeth Squire #BlogTour #Review

Closer to Sin by Elizabeth Squire #BlogTour #Review

Closer to Sin by Elizabeth Squire #BlogTour #ReviewCloser To Sin by Elizabeth Squire
Published by Escape Publishing on April 1st 2016
Genres: Historical, Romance
Pages: 200
Format: eBook
Amazon//B&N//iBooks//Google Play//Kobo
Goodreads
four-stars

Elizabeth Squire brings a fresh voice to historical romance in this tale of intrigue and passion.
Liliane Desailly travels to Napoleonic France after receiving a plea for help from her French cousin. She learns she is the key to fulfilling her grandfather’s legacy, but to do so she must masquerade as a spy and courier secrets on behalf of the British Admiralty.
Sinclair Charlcroft is the British Admiralty’s last hope. Napoleon’s Grande Armée is poised to invade Britain, an English spy is missing and a traitor has infiltrated the Admiralty’s intelligence network.
Pursued by Napoleon’s agents, Liliane and Sinclair cannot reveal their true identities until they unlock the secrets of the legacy — and only then can they unlock the secrets in their hearts.

Find the Author: Website, Twitter, Facebook, Goodreads
Review
On the eve of her debut into Society, Liliane is drafted into a life of espionage by her cousin. Her mission is simple until she is paired with Sinclair. He is angry about her being there because he is so attracted to her. Sinclair has sworn off marriage after his first one ended badly. He finds he actually enjoys Liliane’s company though.
This is a debut novel from Elizabeth Squire and I must say I was impressed. The story started out a little slow but as it progressed it was hard to put down. I loved the spy aspect of the story.

About Elizabeth Squire

Elizabeth Squire’s love of writing romance couldn’t be further from the life she had carved out for herself. Raised in outback and rural Australia, Elizabeth was determined to live a life vibrant with passion, travel, adventure and discovery—other than the one she had already lived through the pages of the innumerable she read and loved. And so, turning her back on a life in the bush, she invested a lot of years chasing her dreams—she enjoyed a career as a commissioned in the Royal Australian Navy, and counts white-water rafting the Zambezi River, travelling by safari truck through Africa, and back-packing through Eastern Europe with her young family as just a few of her many adventures.
But amongst the adventure, the urge to write intensified as story lines and dialogue continued to materialize from the recesses of her mind. She finally accepted that the voices in her head were really characters enmeshed in the tumultuous Georgian and Regency periods, vying for life on paper.

After a nomadic lifestyle, Elizabeth has now settled into her own home and loves nothing better than bringing her passionate heroines and daring rakes to life. She lives with her own hero and one true love, two beautiful daughters and two delinquent miniature long-haired dachshunds. Closer to Sin is Elizabeth’s debut novel.

four-stars

How To Manage a Marquess by Sally MacKenzie #BlogTour #Review

How To Manage a Marquess by Sally MacKenzie #BlogTour #Review

How To Manage a Marquess by Sally MacKenzie #BlogTour #ReviewHow to Manage a Marquess by Sally MacKenzie
Series: Spinster House #2
Published by Zebra on April 26th 2016
Genres: Romance, Historical
Pages: 352
Format: eBook
Amazon//B&N//iBooks//Google Play//Kobo
Goodreads
three-half-stars

In USA Today bestselling author Sally MacKenzie's charming Spinster House series, love is always a welcome guest…
Two possible futures loom before Miss Anne Davenport. The first option: sharing an unhappy home with her father and soon-to-be stepmother. The second: a life of independence at the Spinster House--if only her friend, Cat, would vacate the premises and marry the Duke of Hart. A well-placed whisper about the pair's secret tryst might speed the course of true love. But the duke's stubborn cousin poses an obstacle. A ridiculously handsome, very persuasive obstacle…
Nate, Marquess of Haywood, has spent his life looking out for the duke, hoping to stave off a family curse. The only way to keep his cousin alive is to keep him single. That means convincing the intriguing Miss Davenport that her lovely lips could be put to far better use than gossiping. Kissing, for instance. In fact, Nate is beginning to hope that Miss Davenport's destiny lies not in the Spinster House at all, but with him …

Find the Author: Website, Twitter, Facebook, Goodreads
Review
Nate has made it his life’s mission to look out for his friend, the Duke of Hart, and keep him from marrying because of a curse that will cause him to die. This means Nate has put off marrying as well. Then he meets Ann who wants to live in the Spinster House so she can have freedom. He can’t stop thinking about her and he doesn’t know why. Ann wants to get her friend married and notices she likes the Duke of Hart. Nate and Ann start off working against each other but that leads to more for them.
I enjoyed this book. I didn’t think I was going to care for it too much but after I got a few chapters into it, I had a hard time putting it down. I look forward to reading more by Sally MacKenzie.
three-half-stars