The Scoundrel and the Lady by Robyn DeHart #Review

The Scoundrel and the Lady by Robyn DeHart #ReviewThe Scoundrel and the Lady by Robyn DeHart
Published by Entangled Publishing on September 25th 2017
Genres: Fiction, Romance, Historical, Regency, General
Pages: 209
Format: eBook
Amazon
Goodreads
four-stars

Iris Bennington is furious when she discovers her younger brother is following the instructions found in the acclaimed advice columns on How to be a Gentleman. The so-called "advice" is more likely to turn her brother into a scoundrel than a true gentleman. Iris decides to locate the author of the columns and confront him.
Merritt Steel, the Earl of Ashby, cannot help but be amused by the slip of a woman who comes calling. Unwilling to let such a delightful potential conquest go, he proposes a wager: bring him anyone off the street and he can pass them off as a gentleman. It's a bargain she readily accepts—but with a twist.
Their bargain proves to be a greater challenge than either anticipated. Merritt finds it near impossible to keep his hands off Iris, and she begins to see the undeniable appeal of ungentlemanly behavior...

Review

Iris has looked after her brother since their parents died right before she was set to make her debut. She’s always put him first so when he returns home from school and starts misbehaving, she makes it her mission to correct his ways. She discovers the cause of his ways to be a series of articles entitled “How to be a Gentleman” written by Merritt, the owner of the newspaper it is published in. She decides to confront him.

Merritt has recently become the Earl of Ashby when a distant relative died and left him the earldom. He is in charge of his younger sister, and needs to find a lady to help with her debut into Society. When Iris confronts him about the newspaper, he makes a wager with her that he can pass off anyone as a gentleman if she can turn his sister into someone the ladies of Society won’t turn on. The more time they spend together, the more scandalous things become. Will Iris be ruined?

I enjoyed this story but there were a few things that threw me off. Iris was raised in society and there is really no indication of a rebellious side to her nature. However, on more than one occasion she allows Merritt to kiss her and each time things go farther than the time before. It’s not behavior that is typical. The storyline is a unique one and I thoroughly enjoyed it and the characters. I look forward to reading more in this series.

four-stars

Seize Today by Pintip Dunn #Excerpt

Seize Today by Pintip Dunn #ExcerptSeize Today by Pintip Dunn
on October 3rd 2017
Genres: Young Adult Fiction, Science Fiction, General, Dystopian, Romance
Pages: 352
Format: eBook
Amazon//B&N//iBooks//Google Play//Kobo
Goodreads

Seventeen-year-old Olivia Dresden is a precognitive. Since different versions of people’s futures flicker before her eyes, she doesn’t have to believe in human decency. She can see the way for everyone to be their best self-if only they would make the right decisions. No one is more conflicted than her mother, and Olivia can only watch as Chairwoman Dresden chooses the dark, destructive course every time. Yet Olivia remains fiercely loyal to the woman her mother could be.
But when the chairwoman captures Ryder Russell, the striking and strong-willed boy from the rebel Underground, Olivia sees a vision of her own imminent death...at Ryder’s hand. Despite her bleak fate, she rescues Ryder and flees with him, drawing her mother’s fury and sparking a romance as doomed as Olivia herself. As the full extent of Chairwoman Dresden’s gruesome plan is revealed, Olivia must find the courage to live in the present-and stop her mother before she destroys the world.

Find the Author: Website, Twitter, Facebook, Goodreads, Instagram

Excerpt

“Are you sifting through my possible pathways?” he asks, his voice husky.

I freeze. But if I’m a block of ice, his fingers do their job, tracing my lips again and again until I melt. “How…how do you know?”

“Your eyes,” he says. “They dilate when you’re reaching into the future. I’m starting to learn when you’re not here.”

I blink. Nobody’s ever told me that before.

“You…noticed?” I ask.

“I notice everything about you,” he says easily. “So, tell me. What did you see in our possible futures?” His voice is low and liquid, and it reaches inside me and caresses parts I didn’t know existed. “What did I do? More importantly, what did you like?”

Heat floods my face. “What, exactly, are we talking about?”

“I don’t know.” His eyes gleam wickedly. “What do you think we’re talking about?”

“Future pathways,” I snap. If I have to electro-whip my attention back on track, I’ll do it, damn the Fates. “I see everything from me slapping you to…” I trail off, and my cheeks flame even hotter. Oh my. I can’t possibly put into words the images flying through my head like a hailstorm.

“Now I’m really intrigued.” He moves his hand to my hair, tugging slightly. I feel the tension all the way to my toes. “Are you really not going to tell me? Because, you know, then I’ll have to guess.”

“I’m not going to tell you,” I whisper.

His lips curve in a mischievous grin that makes me want to tuck him in my pocket and keep him forever. And then, while I’m still reeling from his cuteness, he leans in.

I’m not ready. My mouth is partway open, and I’m in the middle of a breath. He kisses me anyway. I shut my mouth in a hurry. Lips, so soft. His back and shoulders, so hard. Holy Fates, that was his tongue. His tongue, slipping between my teeth. Sparks. So many sparks, igniting in the air around us.

“How’s this?” he whispers against my mouth. “Did you see this in our future?”

I nod helplessly.

He moves closer, scooping me up and shifting me on the mattress so that he can lie next to me. Our foreheads touch; so do our knees. “And this? Was this in some of our pathways?”

I nod again, but that doesn’t seem to satisfy him anymore. His eyes intent on mine, he catches my lower lip between his teeth. “Do you like it?”

Do I like it? What kind of question is that?

I’ve tasted every emotion in our world. I know the sorrow a mother feels when she clasps her deceased baby to her chest. I know the pride of a gold-star athlete when he stands on a podium and accepts North Amerie’s highest honor. I know the rage that silences the heart of a murderer as he cuts short another’s life.

I even know kisses—hot, frenzied, passionate, fumbling, sweet, aching, innocent kisses. I’ve seen them all in other people’s futures, thousands of kisses, millions of kisses, as varied as the pathways themselves.

And yet…and yet…I’ve felt nothing like kissing Ryder. Even the vision of this moment itself.

So, yeah, I like it. It scares me how much I like it.

 

Black Bird of the Gallows by Meg Kassel #BlogTour #Review

Black Bird of the Gallows by Meg Kassel #BlogTour #Review

Black Bird of the Gallows by Meg Kassel #BlogTour #ReviewBlack Bird of the Gallows by Meg Kassel
Published by Entangled Publishing on September 5th 2017
Genres: Young Adult Fiction, Romance, Paranormal
Pages: 300
Format: eBook
Amazon//B&N//iBooks//Kobo
Goodreads
five-stars

A simple but forgotten truth: Where harbingers of death appear, the morgues will soon be full.
Angie Dovage can tell there’s more to Reece Fernandez than just the tall, brooding athlete who has her classmates swooning, but she can’t imagine his presence signals a tragedy that will devastate her small town. When something supernatural tries to attack her, Angie is thrown into a battle between good and evil she never saw coming. Right in the center of it is Reece—and he’s not human.
What's more, she knows something most don't. That the secrets her town holds could kill them all. But that’s only half as dangerous as falling in love with a harbinger of death.

Find the Author: Website, Blog, Twitter, Facebook, Goodreads, Instagram, Tumblr

Review

I have been impatiently waiting for this book ever since Entangled: Teen sent an email out about it back in February. The cover is gorgeous and the blurb is intriguing. I didn’t know just how intriguing it was going to be. Part of me was scared that I was wanting to read it so badly that it wasn’t going to be good.

Angie doesn’t like being in the spotlight. She made national news when she was younger and it was not for something that she wants to be remembered for. Reece is the new boy in town and the only one who Angie wants to notice her. However, he isn’t quite human being a harbinger of death and all. His family and he have been living with this curse for over a thousand years. Angie’s town is going to be the site of a disaster and Reece swears to keep Angie safe.

There is a horror element to this story in the form of psychosis-inducing bees that someone called a Beekeeper releases on people. I’ll let you read the story for yourself to find out more about that though. There is plenty of action in this book and I didn’t want the story to end. This is an excellent debut. I can’t wait to read more from this author.

About Meg Kassel

Meg Kassel is an author of fantasy and speculative books for
young adults. A graduate of Parson's School of Design, she’s
always been creating stories, whether with visuals or words. She
worked as a graphic designer before realizing the thing she did
for pleasure (writing) was something she should do for real. Meg
is a New Jersey native who lives in a log house in the Maine
woods with her husband and daughter. A fan of ’80s cartoons,
Netflix series, and ancient mythology, Meg has always been
fascinated and inspired by the fantastic, the creepy, and the futuristic. When she’s not writing,
Meg is reading, hanging out with her family, hoarding peanut butter cups, or playing video
games. She is a two-time finalist and the 2016 winner of the RWA Golden Heart© contest in YA.

Giveaway

a Rafflecopter giveaway

five-stars

Rebel by Rebecca Yarros #Review

Rebel by Rebecca Yarros #ReviewRebel by Rebecca Yarros
Published by Entangled Publishing on August 28th 2017
Genres: Fiction, Romance, New Adult, General, Contemporary Women, Sports
Pages: 478
Format: eBook
Amazon
Goodreads
four-stars

She’s Penna Carstairs. The Renegade they call Rebel. FMX-treme Magazine’s sexiest female athlete of the year.There’s no rule in extreme sports she hasn’t broken,No gender barrier she hasn’t demolished.
She’s the woman I met in a bar in Vegas.The woman I illegally BASE jumped for.The woman I spent one insane, incredible night with.But now I’m screwed.Or rather...not screwed.
Because the woman I can’t get out of my head is the one woman I can never touch again.I’m Dr. Cruz Delgado—the youngest professor on this campus,And Penelope Carstairs just walked into my class.
Each book in The Renegades series is a standalone story that can be enjoyed out of order. Series Order:Book #1 WilderBook #2 NovaBook #3 Rebel

Review

Rebel is book 3 in The Renegades series by Rebecca Yarros. I am a huge fan of her writing because she hits you right in the feels every time.

Rebel is the only girl in a group of daredevils and she is a bad ass. She has defied all gender barriers and doesn’t let anything hold her back. Cruz is a man she met a bar and had a fling with. He is irresistibly hot with lickable abs and he doesn’t let her dangerous job get in the way of his feelings for her. He doesn’t tell her she has to quit. The only thing that really stands in their way is the fact that he’s her professor making their romance forbidden.

I seriously didn’t want this story to end and I am sad that it is the last book in this series. I have loved this series so much!

four-stars

Untold by Shannon Richard #ReleaseBlitz

Untold by Shannon Richard #ReleaseBlitzUntold by Shannon Richard
Published by Grand Central Publishing on September 5th 2017
Genres: Fiction, Romance, Contemporary, Coming of Age, Contemporary Women
Pages: 400
Format: eBook
Amazon//B&N//iBooks//Google Play//Kobo
Goodreads

SOMETIMES LOVE HAS A PLAN OF ITS OWN . . .
Brie Davis came to Mirabelle, Florida, for one thing: the funeral of her birth mother-a woman she never had a chance to know. Now Brie must sort through her mother's life to get the answers she was denied. She plans to leave as soon as she can . . . except the sexy veterinarian makes Brie's pulse beat faster than she's willing to admit.
Finn Shepherd knows Brie's only in town for a short while, but he can't stay away. Instead he finds himself looking for more reasons to keep her close. Finn's already had his fair share of heartbreak, yet Brie makes him want to take that risk again. Now all Finn has to do is convince her to take a chance on him . . . before she disappears from his life forever.
Look for more books in the Country Roads series!UndoneUndeniableUnstoppableUnforgettableUndressedUnsungUncontrollable

Find the Author: Website, Blog, Twitter, Facebook, Amazon, Instagram

Excerpt

“Are you leaving soon?”

“In a bit. I want to see the end of the game.”

“Really now?” He leaned in close to her again. And for what was probably the fiftieth time that night she could smell the clean masculine scent that clung to him. Soap and maybe a little aftershave combined with him. He smelled incredible.

So. Damn. Good.

“Yeah, I’m a Stampede fan now. I’m in it to win it.” She couldn’t stop herself from leaning in a bit closer herself.

“Commitment, I like it.”

“Yeah?”

“Yeah.” His smile grew and his eyes got more intense, the blue getting deeper. “It’s not the only thing I like either.”

“What else do you like?” Her voice dropped low as she spoke. Oh God, the more time she spent with him, the more he affected her. The closer he got to her, the more he affected her. The more he looked at her, the more he affected her.

He just affected her.

“About you? The list keeps growing, and growing. Give me twenty minutes and I’d be happy to tell you about it. In great detail.”

Her stomach flipped and the air in her lungs caught. This time her inability to breath had nothing to do with suffocating pressure. “What happens in twenty minutes?” She somehow managed to ask.

“The game is over.” He turned just a little bit so he could incline his head toward the TV, not taking his eyes off of her while he did it.

“You don’t need to stay here? Until closing?”

“Nope, just came in to help with the rush during the game. I’m free after that.”

“Right,” she nodded slowly, her stomach doing a summersault. “And if I said yes? What happens then?”

He moved back so that he was standing directly in front of her again, leaning in close. The nearness of him combined with the way he was looking at her and the topic of conversation—that she was 99.9% sure was one about them having sex—was making her pulse race. And that wasn’t the only thing he was doing to her. It was taking everything in her not to squirm in her seat. She somehow managed to subtly press her thighs together. It was all she could do to combat the swelling ache.

 

About Shannon Richard

Shannon Richard grew up in the Florida Panhandle as the baby sister of two overly protective but loving brothers. She was raised by a more than somewhat eccentric mother, a self-proclaimed vocabularist who showed her how to get lost in a book and a father who passed on his love for coffee and really loud music. She graduated from Florida State University with a BA in English Literature and still lives in Tallahassee where she battles everyday life with writing, reading, and a rant every once in a while. Okay, so the rants might happen on a regular basis. She's still waiting for her Southern, scruffy, Mr. Darcy, and in the meantime writes love stories to indulge her overactive imagination. Oh, and she's a pretty big fan of the whimsy.

A Love to Remember by Bronwen Evans #Review

A Love to Remember by Bronwen Evans #ReviewA Love to Remember by Bronwen Evans
Published by Random House Publishing Group on August 29th 2017
Genres: Fiction, Romance, Historical, Regency, Victorian, Suspense
Pages: 216
Format: eBook
Amazon
Goodreads
five-stars

A fiercely independent duchess and a brooding, reclusive earl are tested by the demands of desire in this unforgettable romance from the USA Today bestselling author of A Kiss of Lies and A Night of Forever.
For Rose Deverill, one husband was enough. As the wealthy widow of the Duke of Roxborough, she has cultivated an unsavory reputation meant to discourage wife hunters. Thanks to a string of steamy affairs, Rose is perfectly content to be known by polite society as the “Wicked Widow”—until she’s reunited with the man she fell in love with at age fifteen. Their bedroom encounters are scorching, but it breaks Rose’s heart to wonder whether her reckless behavior ruined her for Philip Flagstaff.
The second son of the Earl of Cumberland, Philip never wanted the title. But after Philip’s older brother, Robert, follows him into the Battle of Waterloo, his worst fears come to pass. Now Robert lies in a soldier’s grave, and Philip is determined never to pass on the inheritance to children of his own. Then Rose appears, soothing the pain with her delightful curves and passionate kisses. The notorious Duchess seems to want nothing from him—and yet Philip has never ached to give a woman more.
Don’t miss any of Bronwen Evans’s enchanting Disgraced Lords novels: A KISS OF LIES | A PROMISE OF MORE | A TOUCH OF PASSION | A WHISPER OF DESIRE | A TASTE OF SEDUCTION | A NIGHT OF FOREVER | ADDICTED TO THE DUKE | A LOVE TO REMEMBER
Advance praise for A Love to Remember
A Love to Remember by Bronwen Evans is an awesome read. Ms. Evans has gifted historical romance fans with yet another amazing story.”—Debjonesdiem
“I really loved this book.”—A Crazy Vermonter’s Book Reviews
“Sizzling romance and page-turning suspense make a read not to be missed! Loved it!”—Maeve Greyson, author of the Highland Heart Series
“With its complex characters, suspenseful plot, and steamy passion, Bronwen Evans’s A Love to Remember should not be missed. Readers will fall in love with Rose and Philip and stay up way past bedtime to cheer for their happily ever after.”—Shana Galen, bestselling author of I Kissed a Rogue
Includes an excerpt from another Loveswept title.

Review

A Love to Remember is book 7 in the Disgraced Lords series by Bronwen Evans although it can be read as a standalone. I’ve skipped around this series and have only read 4 books so far but I love these characters.

This is the story of Rose and Phillip. Rose was married at the age of 18 to her father’s friend, the Duke of Roxborough. He was more than twice her age and to say she was glad when he died would be an understatement. The one good thing that came from that marriage was her son, Drake. She has no desire to remarry and is known to the ton as the Wicked Widow. The one man who could change her mind about marriage is her lover of two years and childhood friend, Phillip.

Phillip, the Earl of Cumberland, lives with a lot of guilt since his brother, Robert, died taking a sword that was meant for him. He blames himself for Robert’s commission in the army and takes a vow to let the Earldom pass to his younger brother by never marrying or producing an heir. When Rose admits she wants more or their affair must end, he is torn. He wants to be with Rose but not in marriage. When Drake’s life is threatened, will he realize that maybe he has been too hard on himself and that he indeed loves Rose? Or will it be too late?

I love this series and Bronwen Evan’s writing. This is exactly what I’ve come to expect from the Libertine Scholars and I love devouring their stories. I say devour because so far I have read them all in one sitting. I look forward to reading the rest of this series and I might even re-read them all in order one day.

five-stars

How to Marry a Marquess by Stacey Reid #Review

How to Marry a Marquess by Stacey Reid #ReviewHow to Marry a Marquess by Stacy Reid
Series: Wedded by Scandal #3
Published by Entangled Publishing on August 14th 2017
Genres: Fiction, Romance, Historical, Regency, General
Pages: 279
Format: eBook
Amazon
Goodreads
four-stars

Lady Evie Chesterfield is a darling of the ton who refuses to become engaged. She's been desperately in love with her brother's friend, Richard Maitland, Marquess of Westfall, since forever. But the dark, dangerous marquess only sees her as a friend and refuses to marry any woman. When circumstances change and Evie has no choice but to take a husband, she decides to convince London's most notorious gentleman to marry her by seducing the scoundrel.
Richard Maitland decided long ago that he wanted nothing to do with love. So when the gorgeous, off-limits Evie asks him for lessons in seduction, Richard knows he's playing with fire. Despite Richard's determination to protect her from his dastardly reputation, he is tested at every turn by his need for the infuriating, but enticing, Lady Evie. Before too long he is faced with making an impossible choice...
Each book in the Wedded by Scandal series is a standalone story that can be enjoyed out of order. Series Order:Book #1 Accidentally Compromising the DukeBook #2 Wicked in His ArmsBook #3 How to Marry a Marquess

Find the Author: Website, Twitter, Facebook, Goodreads, Pinterest

Review

How to Marry a Marquess is the third book in the Wedded by Scandal series by Stacy Reid. I really enjoyed this book and the characters. Evie is 16 and Richard, 24 when we first meet them. Evie is distraught about the affections of an old Duke when Richard finds her. It was a humorous scene since Evie was puking and Richard covered it with a shovel.

Evie is being pushed to marry and she wants to marry Richard. He has been burned by women in the past and betrayed by one he loved and he has no intentions to marry. He surprises the ton when he discovers he has a daughter and moves her into his estate to take care of her. That just wasn’t done during those times and he is afraid that Evie won’t accept his daughter. Basically, they both have feelings for the other but neither thinks the other feels the same.

I loved that this book had a more modernish feel to it for a historical romance. It always makes me happy to see the characters defy what the ton expects of them and this book was very enjoyable because of that. I look forward to reading more in this series.

four-stars

Black Bird of the Gallows by Meg Kassel #ExcerptReveal

Black Bird of the Gallows by Meg Kassel #ExcerptRevealBlack Bird of the Gallows by Meg Kassel
Published by Entangled Publishing on September 5th 2017
Genres: Young Adult Fiction, Romance, Paranormal
Pages: 300
Goodreads

A simple but forgotten truth: Where harbingers of death appear, the morgues will soon be full.
Angie Dovage can tell there’s more to Reece Fernandez than just the tall, brooding athlete who has her classmates swooning, but she can’t imagine his presence signals a tragedy that will devastate her small town. When something supernatural tries to attack her, Angie is thrown into a battle between good and evil she never saw coming. Right in the center of it is Reece—and he’s not human.
What's more, she knows something most don't. That the secrets her town holds could kill them all. But that’s only half as dangerous as falling in love with a harbinger of death.

Find the Author: Website, Blog, Twitter, Facebook, Goodreads, Instagram, Tumblr

Excerpt

I’m seriously questioning the wisdom of coming here. Who is this boy? Who are these people? I may not want these answers. Whatever illusion I had been weaving about this being a normal family can’t be true. This is a family, yes, but one putting on an elaborate show to appear to be something they are not. “Everyday life can’t be so bad,” I say lightly, eager to change the subject before I start luring myself down a hole. “You have a beautiful home, a nice family. You’re popular at school. Kiera Shaw certainly likes you.”

He turns his gaze to me, slowly. “Kiera Shaw? You think I like her?”

“I don’t know what you like.” I don’t blink. I don’t look away. “I know only what I’ve seen.”

Reece leans close, gently entering my personal space. Close enough to put me on edge, but not close enough to intimidate. His voice is silk on gravel. His narrowed eyes glitter down at me. “And what, exactly, have you seen, Angie?”

Shivers race up my skin. I want to defuse this so badly, but I feel like this is a challenge I can’t lose. “I’ve seen and heard things that don’t make sense. Things I can’t understand.” I shift my gaze to my crow sitting on a branch above my head. It watches me with an intensity that would scare me if I wasn’t accustomed to it. “Tell me about the crows.”

He shakes his head. “Sorry. Either you know about them, or you don’t.”

My jaw tightens, even as I step toward him. I can feel his body heat. His clean, guy scent fills my senses with a unique magnetism that draws me close. Closer still. “I will find out.”

His gaze sweeps my face, lingering on my lips. “I hope not.” His breath warms my temple, sending a shiver under my skin. “There are worse things out there than a few watchful birds.”

“Like what?” I’m breathless, damn him. My words are barely audible.

His lashes fan low over his eyes. The narrow space between us crackles with tension. “Oh Angie, you don’t want to know.”

About Meg Kassel

Meg Kassel is an author of fantasy and speculative books for
young adults. A graduate of Parson's School of Design, she’s
always been creating stories, whether with visuals or words. She
worked as a graphic designer before realizing the thing she did
for pleasure (writing) was something she should do for real. Meg
is a New Jersey native who lives in a log house in the Maine
woods with her husband and daughter. A fan of ’80s cartoons,
Netflix series, and ancient mythology, Meg has always been
fascinated and inspired by the fantastic, the creepy, and the futuristic. When she’s not writing,
Meg is reading, hanging out with her family, hoarding peanut butter cups, or playing video
games. She is a two-time finalist and the 2016 winner of the RWA Golden Heart© contest in YA.

Giveaway

 a Rafflecopter giveaway

The Billionaire Wins the Game by Melody Anne #Review

The Billionaire Wins the Game by Melody Anne #ReviewThe Billionaire Wins the Game by Melody Anne
Published by Gossamer Publishing on May 28th 2012
Genres: Fiction, Romance, Contemporary
Pages: 304
Length: 7 hrs, 5 min
Format: eBook, Audiobook
Amazon
Goodreads
three-half-stars

 ALL NEWLY PUBLISHED WITH DELETED SCENES AND AN ADDITIONAL 25 THOUSAND WORDS. SEE THE FIRST BOOK OF THE ANDERSON SERIES.

"As the first book in the Billionaire Bachelors series, Melody Anne makes a great first impression with The Billionaire Wins the Game leaving readers craving for more."
"I am already recommending to friends, peers, and acquaintances. The Billionaire Wins the Game has received two thumbs up from me for sure. As a pondering point, I think it would make an interesting story line for a movie as well."The Billionaire Wins the Game (Billionaire Bachelors)
To read the full review please check out: http://www.squidoo.com/a-review-of-the-billionaire-wins-the-game-by-melody-anne - Andrea Fuentes (TopArticlesToday.com Contributor) 

A NIGHT OWL REVIEWS BOOK REVIEW 4.5 Stars | Reviewed by: Millarda 
I really liked this book and it is a keeper. It exhibits the dilemma of letting go of what you know and embracing the opportunity for love and happiness. It is very well written and constructed. The characters mature nicely throughout this book. You can easily visualize what you are reading.
The dialogue is easy to understand. There is a lot of tension and conflict between Lucas and Amy. Lucas’ father wanted his son to find happiness and love. Lucas wasn’t ready for any type of change in his life. Lucas liked living with no attachments and wanted to keep it that way, little did he know his father already had other plans. He knew he wanted grandchildren while he could still play with them. If that was going to happen he had to do something.

Joseph Anderson has decided it's time for his three successful sons to find brides. Joseph wants grandchildren to fill his mansion, and he wants them immediately. His eldest son, Lucas, is successful in all areas of his life, except love, and Joseph begins matchmaking. He finds Amy Harper and deems her the perfect daughter-in-law. He just needs to get her and Lucas to both realize they're made for each other. 

Lucas Anderson is wealthy, sexy, and stubborn. He has no desire to have any woman enter his life, causing chaos, or using his family's name. Many women have tried, and he's been successful in finding out who they are beneath their false smiles. 

Amy Harper was raised in tragic circumstances and doesn't like pampered, rich men who have been handed everything with a silver spoon. She spent years finishing her education and then received a job with the Anderson Corporation. She instantly doesn't like her incredibly sexy boss, who is arrogant and thinks every woman should fall at his feet. 

When Amy becomes pregnant after one reckless night of passion, she's scared he'll take the baby and run. Lucas is demanding, and used to getting his way, but Amy has just the right amount of spark to ignite his fuse, and challenges him each step of the way. 

Lucas's father, Joseph, and his brothers Alex and Mark, offer laughter, love, and support. With the love of Lucas's family, who aren't only rich and successful, but also kind and giving, Amy starts to realize that being wealthy doesn't make or break a man, and starts to picture the happily ever after she never believed in for herself.

Review
The Billionaire Wins the Game is a quick read that is very light hearted. I enjoyed it even though it was very predictable and somewhat cliche.
Joseph Anderson wants nothing more than to be surrounded by grandchildren. His three sons have never had serious relationships and don’t seem to want to settle down so he decides it’s time to mettle in their lives a little. Lucas is his oldest son and he took over the family business after Joseph retired. He hires Amy as Lucas’s new Executive Assistant and hopes sparks will fly between them. Both Lucas and Amy are uncomfortable with the attraction between them because of their work environment but one night, Lucas decides to give in to temptation. The next day he acts indifferent so Amy decides to act the same. But of course, she finds out she is pregnant. How will Lucas react?
This book is funny. I have both the ebook and the audiobook versions so I alternated between reading and listening. The narrator does an excellent job and her voice really helps the story. Every time a couple doesn’t use a condom in a book, I cringe because what do they expect to happen. I didn’t care for Lucas at first because of his attitude in general but once he let that go I liked him. Amy is an okay character but I didn’t love her. There are a few inconsistencies in the writing but they weren’t too horrendous. Overall, this is good read for just zoning out.
three-half-stars

An Earl by Any Other Name by Lauren Smith #ReleaseBlitz

An Earl by Any Other Name by Lauren Smith #ReleaseBlitzAn Earl by Any Other Name by Lauren Smith
Published by Forever Yours on August 1, 2017
Genres: Historical, Romance
Pages: 164
Format: eBook
Amazon//B&N//iBooks//Google Play//Kobo
Goodreads

An earl in the streets, a rogue in the sheets . . .

Leopold Graham, Lord Hampton, was never a man to let propriety stand in the way of his pursuit of pleasure. Hedonism is his only desire in life---until his father's death saddles him with debts that threaten to bankrupt the entire family. Now the only thing that stands between him and utter ruin is marriage to a proper, and preferably wealthy, young lady.

Ivy Leighton is no sweet English rose. Perhaps it's her gypsy roots, but she would rather make a spectacle of her independent spirit than sit quietly on the sidelines. If that means that the only place she'll ever have in society is firmly on the shelf, then so be it. But when Ivy runs into the handsome, rakish Leo who's looking for a respectable, well-bred wife, she can't stop thinking about the troubles they can get into. Now she just has to convince him that a life with her is really what he needs.

Find the Author: Website, Twitter, Facebook, Amazon

Excerpt

     Without so much as another word, he bent his head. When their mouths were an inch apart, he captured her gaze, and something wild and hot passed between them as he slanted his mouth over hers. All worries and fears were destroyed in the wake of pleasure and fire.

Heat and light burned through at that single kiss, like tender sparks shooting through the night over a healthy fire. A little moan escaped her as he teased her mouth open with his tongue. One of his hands grasped her hip, holding her firm between him and the tree as he pressed against her. The heady aroma of autumn leaves, leather, and sandalwood sent her senses spinning.

With gentle kisses and a wicked tongue, he taught her all the ways she’d longed to kiss. It was the sort of kiss the upstairs maids whispered about, the kind that made a woman lose her head… and her heart.

     This is a terrible idea. I should stop him…but… The will to break the kiss faded like morning mist. Once upon a time, there had been nothing more she had wanted in her life, a kiss from her sunny-haired prince. But she’d changed; she’d grown up and a man’s kiss shouldn’t have been so potent that it cast a spell over her. Yet, Leo’s kiss was exactly that, a spell that bound her to him in a way she feared would break her heart.

He nipped her lips, and she felt his mouth curve into a smile against hers before he finally drew back. His eyes were dark with passion, and his breathing was rough and warm against her face. Their bodies were so close, the intimacy making her feel like there was nothing outside of them in that moment.

“Why do I have the feeling you are going to be trouble, Miss Leighton?” Leo chuckled, suddenly drawing a fingertip down her nose and tapping it lightly, the way he had so often all those years ago.

“Trouble?” she echoed faintly. Still shaken by her first kiss and the shivery warmth spreading through her limbs, she dared not move for fear of falling. Love was dangerous; love ruined a woman’s dreams. And Leo was the one man who could tempt her into falling in love.

“Oh yes. Just when I have everything planned, you come along and remind me of why I used to be so wicked.” He bent, feathered one last kiss to her lips before he took her arm in his and escorted her back to the house.

Ivy did not look at him. She felt changed. Their secret moment had awakened her and melted whatever defenses she’d thought she’d built again his charm. How was she ever going to think clearly when all she wanted to do was relive that kiss? The carefully crafted battlements around her heart quivered, trembled, the walls crumbling.

Oh dear…

About Lauren Smith

LAUREN SMITH, winner of the 2014 Historical International Digital Award, attended Oklahoma State University, where she earned a B.A. in both history and political science. Drawn to paintings and museums, Lauren is obsessed with antiques and satisfies her fascination with history by writing and exploring exotic, ancient lands. She is currently an attorney in Tulsa, Oklahoma.

Giveaway

Enter to win 1 of 15 free ebook downloads of An Earl by Any Other Namehttp://bit.ly/2t56MZl