The Ones Who Got Away by Roni Loren #Review

The Ones Who Got Away by Roni Loren #ReviewThe Ones Who Got Away by Roni Loren
Published by Sourcebooks Casablanca on January 2nd 2018
Genres: Fiction, Romance, Contemporary
Pages: 384
Format: Paperback
Amazon//B&N//iBooks//Google Play
Goodreads
five-stars

"Phenomenal. Gets my highest recommendation!" —LORELEI JAMES, New York Times and USA Today bestselling author

It's been twelve years since tragedy struck the senior class of Long Acre High School. Only a few students survived that fateful night—a group the media dubbed The Ones Who Got Away.

Liv Arias thought she'd never return to Long Acre—until a documentary brings her and the other survivors back home. Suddenly her old flame, Finn Dorsey, is closer than ever, and their attraction is still white-hot. When a searing kiss reignites their passion, Liv realizes this rough-around-the-edges cop might be exactly what she needs...

Liv's words cut off as Finn got closer. The man approaching was nothing like the boy she'd known. The bulky football muscles had streamlined into a harder, leaner package and the look in his deep green eyes held no trace of boyish innocence.

Review

The Ones Who Got Away is the first book I have read by Roni Loren and I must say I was impressed. This book is dark and twisty with the weighty subject of a school shooting and how the survivors are coping twelve years later. The romance is off-the-charts hot and I couldn’t put this book down.

Liv has PTSD from having a gun held to her head while Finn has made it his life mission to track down the people who were responsible for putting the guns into the hands of the shooters. They are still attracted to each other after all those years and the memories of that night, and their chemistry is smoking hot. I was rooting for them the whole time.

I would highly recommend this if you like contemporary romance that is a little on the darker side.

Giveaway

a Rafflecopter giveaway

five-stars

A Dance with Seduction by Alyssa Alexander #Review

A Dance with Seduction by Alyssa Alexander #ReviewA Dance With Seduction by Alyssa Alexander
Published by Entangled: Select Historical on July 24th 2017
Genres: Romance, Historical
Pages: 408
Format: eBook
Amazon
Goodreads
three-half-stars

Vivienne Le Fleur is one of London’s most sought after opera dancer and one of England’s best weapons: the spy known as the Flower. When a French agent pressures her to change allegiance by abducting her sister, Vivienne is forced to seek the help of the only man in London who doesn’t want her.
Maximilian Westwood, retired code breaker, doesn't like surprises or mysteries and The Flower is both. When she sneaks into his study in the middle of the night with a coded message, he’s ready to push her out whatever window she arrived through. Except Maximilian is unable to turn away a woman in trouble. Determined to rescue Vivienne’s sister, they engage in a game of cat and mouse with French spies that requires all of Vivienne’s training and Maximilian’s abilities. Bound together by secrecy, they discover there is more between them than politics and hidden codes, but love has no place among the secrets of espionage...

Review
A Dance with Seduction is book 3 in Alyssa Alexander’s A Spy in the Ton series. It’s the first book I have read by her and these can be read as standalones.
Maximilian was a code-breaker in His Majesty’s Service when he met Vivienne, a spy know as The Flower. He has since retired from code-breaking and works as a translator when she shows up at his house. Vivienne needs him to decipher a code that was left for her which wants her to basically commit treason. When she refuses this person, they kidnap her sister. They must work together if they have any hope of alluding a French spy master and rescue Anne.
I thought I was going to like this book a whole lot more than I did. I liked the premise of the story and what not but it just felt too slow. With it being a spy novel, I figured it would be fast paced with lots of action. While there was action, it just wasn’t what I expected. I still enjoyed the book and really liked that Maximilian is a nerd. It just seemed really odd to me that Vivienne was able to keep not being able to read a secret for so long mainly because her job as a spy requires that you be able to read.
three-half-stars

The Scoundrel and the Lady by Robyn DeHart #Review

The Scoundrel and the Lady by Robyn DeHart #ReviewThe Scoundrel and the Lady by Robyn DeHart
Published by Entangled Publishing on September 25th 2017
Genres: Fiction, Romance, Historical, Regency, General
Pages: 209
Format: eBook
Amazon
Goodreads
four-stars

Iris Bennington is furious when she discovers her younger brother is following the instructions found in the acclaimed advice columns on How to be a Gentleman. The so-called "advice" is more likely to turn her brother into a scoundrel than a true gentleman. Iris decides to locate the author of the columns and confront him.
Merritt Steel, the Earl of Ashby, cannot help but be amused by the slip of a woman who comes calling. Unwilling to let such a delightful potential conquest go, he proposes a wager: bring him anyone off the street and he can pass them off as a gentleman. It's a bargain she readily accepts—but with a twist.
Their bargain proves to be a greater challenge than either anticipated. Merritt finds it near impossible to keep his hands off Iris, and she begins to see the undeniable appeal of ungentlemanly behavior...

Review

Iris has looked after her brother since their parents died right before she was set to make her debut. She’s always put him first so when he returns home from school and starts misbehaving, she makes it her mission to correct his ways. She discovers the cause of his ways to be a series of articles entitled “How to be a Gentleman” written by Merritt, the owner of the newspaper it is published in. She decides to confront him.

Merritt has recently become the Earl of Ashby when a distant relative died and left him the earldom. He is in charge of his younger sister, and needs to find a lady to help with her debut into Society. When Iris confronts him about the newspaper, he makes a wager with her that he can pass off anyone as a gentleman if she can turn his sister into someone the ladies of Society won’t turn on. The more time they spend together, the more scandalous things become. Will Iris be ruined?

I enjoyed this story but there were a few things that threw me off. Iris was raised in society and there is really no indication of a rebellious side to her nature. However, on more than one occasion she allows Merritt to kiss her and each time things go farther than the time before. It’s not behavior that is typical. The storyline is a unique one and I thoroughly enjoyed it and the characters. I look forward to reading more in this series.

four-stars

Seize Today by Pintip Dunn #Excerpt

Seize Today by Pintip Dunn #ExcerptSeize Today by Pintip Dunn
on October 3rd 2017
Genres: Young Adult Fiction, Science Fiction, General, Dystopian, Romance
Pages: 352
Format: eBook
Amazon//B&N//iBooks//Google Play//Kobo
Goodreads

Seventeen-year-old Olivia Dresden is a precognitive. Since different versions of people’s futures flicker before her eyes, she doesn’t have to believe in human decency. She can see the way for everyone to be their best self-if only they would make the right decisions. No one is more conflicted than her mother, and Olivia can only watch as Chairwoman Dresden chooses the dark, destructive course every time. Yet Olivia remains fiercely loyal to the woman her mother could be.
But when the chairwoman captures Ryder Russell, the striking and strong-willed boy from the rebel Underground, Olivia sees a vision of her own imminent death...at Ryder’s hand. Despite her bleak fate, she rescues Ryder and flees with him, drawing her mother’s fury and sparking a romance as doomed as Olivia herself. As the full extent of Chairwoman Dresden’s gruesome plan is revealed, Olivia must find the courage to live in the present-and stop her mother before she destroys the world.

Find the Author: Website, Twitter, Facebook, Goodreads, Instagram

Excerpt

“Are you sifting through my possible pathways?” he asks, his voice husky.

I freeze. But if I’m a block of ice, his fingers do their job, tracing my lips again and again until I melt. “How…how do you know?”

“Your eyes,” he says. “They dilate when you’re reaching into the future. I’m starting to learn when you’re not here.”

I blink. Nobody’s ever told me that before.

“You…noticed?” I ask.

“I notice everything about you,” he says easily. “So, tell me. What did you see in our possible futures?” His voice is low and liquid, and it reaches inside me and caresses parts I didn’t know existed. “What did I do? More importantly, what did you like?”

Heat floods my face. “What, exactly, are we talking about?”

“I don’t know.” His eyes gleam wickedly. “What do you think we’re talking about?”

“Future pathways,” I snap. If I have to electro-whip my attention back on track, I’ll do it, damn the Fates. “I see everything from me slapping you to…” I trail off, and my cheeks flame even hotter. Oh my. I can’t possibly put into words the images flying through my head like a hailstorm.

“Now I’m really intrigued.” He moves his hand to my hair, tugging slightly. I feel the tension all the way to my toes. “Are you really not going to tell me? Because, you know, then I’ll have to guess.”

“I’m not going to tell you,” I whisper.

His lips curve in a mischievous grin that makes me want to tuck him in my pocket and keep him forever. And then, while I’m still reeling from his cuteness, he leans in.

I’m not ready. My mouth is partway open, and I’m in the middle of a breath. He kisses me anyway. I shut my mouth in a hurry. Lips, so soft. His back and shoulders, so hard. Holy Fates, that was his tongue. His tongue, slipping between my teeth. Sparks. So many sparks, igniting in the air around us.

“How’s this?” he whispers against my mouth. “Did you see this in our future?”

I nod helplessly.

He moves closer, scooping me up and shifting me on the mattress so that he can lie next to me. Our foreheads touch; so do our knees. “And this? Was this in some of our pathways?”

I nod again, but that doesn’t seem to satisfy him anymore. His eyes intent on mine, he catches my lower lip between his teeth. “Do you like it?”

Do I like it? What kind of question is that?

I’ve tasted every emotion in our world. I know the sorrow a mother feels when she clasps her deceased baby to her chest. I know the pride of a gold-star athlete when he stands on a podium and accepts North Amerie’s highest honor. I know the rage that silences the heart of a murderer as he cuts short another’s life.

I even know kisses—hot, frenzied, passionate, fumbling, sweet, aching, innocent kisses. I’ve seen them all in other people’s futures, thousands of kisses, millions of kisses, as varied as the pathways themselves.

And yet…and yet…I’ve felt nothing like kissing Ryder. Even the vision of this moment itself.

So, yeah, I like it. It scares me how much I like it.

 

Black Bird of the Gallows by Meg Kassel #BlogTour #Review

Black Bird of the Gallows by Meg Kassel #BlogTour #Review

Black Bird of the Gallows by Meg Kassel #BlogTour #ReviewBlack Bird of the Gallows by Meg Kassel
Published by Entangled Publishing on September 5th 2017
Genres: Young Adult Fiction, Romance, Paranormal
Pages: 300
Format: eBook
Amazon//B&N//iBooks//Kobo
Goodreads
five-stars

A simple but forgotten truth: Where harbingers of death appear, the morgues will soon be full.
Angie Dovage can tell there’s more to Reece Fernandez than just the tall, brooding athlete who has her classmates swooning, but she can’t imagine his presence signals a tragedy that will devastate her small town. When something supernatural tries to attack her, Angie is thrown into a battle between good and evil she never saw coming. Right in the center of it is Reece—and he’s not human.
What's more, she knows something most don't. That the secrets her town holds could kill them all. But that’s only half as dangerous as falling in love with a harbinger of death.

Find the Author: Website, Blog, Twitter, Facebook, Goodreads, Instagram, Tumblr

Review

I have been impatiently waiting for this book ever since Entangled: Teen sent an email out about it back in February. The cover is gorgeous and the blurb is intriguing. I didn’t know just how intriguing it was going to be. Part of me was scared that I was wanting to read it so badly that it wasn’t going to be good.

Angie doesn’t like being in the spotlight. She made national news when she was younger and it was not for something that she wants to be remembered for. Reece is the new boy in town and the only one who Angie wants to notice her. However, he isn’t quite human being a harbinger of death and all. His family and he have been living with this curse for over a thousand years. Angie’s town is going to be the site of a disaster and Reece swears to keep Angie safe.

There is a horror element to this story in the form of psychosis-inducing bees that someone called a Beekeeper releases on people. I’ll let you read the story for yourself to find out more about that though. There is plenty of action in this book and I didn’t want the story to end. This is an excellent debut. I can’t wait to read more from this author.

About Meg Kassel

Meg Kassel is an author of fantasy and speculative books for
young adults. A graduate of Parson's School of Design, she’s
always been creating stories, whether with visuals or words. She
worked as a graphic designer before realizing the thing she did
for pleasure (writing) was something she should do for real. Meg
is a New Jersey native who lives in a log house in the Maine
woods with her husband and daughter. A fan of ’80s cartoons,
Netflix series, and ancient mythology, Meg has always been
fascinated and inspired by the fantastic, the creepy, and the futuristic. When she’s not writing,
Meg is reading, hanging out with her family, hoarding peanut butter cups, or playing video
games. She is a two-time finalist and the 2016 winner of the RWA Golden Heart© contest in YA.

Giveaway

a Rafflecopter giveaway

five-stars

Rebel by Rebecca Yarros #Review

Rebel by Rebecca Yarros #ReviewRebel by Rebecca Yarros
Published by Entangled Publishing on August 28th 2017
Genres: Fiction, Romance, New Adult, General, Contemporary Women, Sports
Pages: 478
Format: eBook
Amazon
Goodreads
four-stars

She’s Penna Carstairs. The Renegade they call Rebel. FMX-treme Magazine’s sexiest female athlete of the year.There’s no rule in extreme sports she hasn’t broken,No gender barrier she hasn’t demolished.
She’s the woman I met in a bar in Vegas.The woman I illegally BASE jumped for.The woman I spent one insane, incredible night with.But now I’m screwed.Or rather...not screwed.
Because the woman I can’t get out of my head is the one woman I can never touch again.I’m Dr. Cruz Delgado—the youngest professor on this campus,And Penelope Carstairs just walked into my class.
Each book in The Renegades series is a standalone story that can be enjoyed out of order. Series Order:Book #1 WilderBook #2 NovaBook #3 Rebel

Review

Rebel is book 3 in The Renegades series by Rebecca Yarros. I am a huge fan of her writing because she hits you right in the feels every time.

Rebel is the only girl in a group of daredevils and she is a bad ass. She has defied all gender barriers and doesn’t let anything hold her back. Cruz is a man she met a bar and had a fling with. He is irresistibly hot with lickable abs and he doesn’t let her dangerous job get in the way of his feelings for her. He doesn’t tell her she has to quit. The only thing that really stands in their way is the fact that he’s her professor making their romance forbidden.

I seriously didn’t want this story to end and I am sad that it is the last book in this series. I have loved this series so much!

four-stars

Untold by Shannon Richard #ReleaseBlitz

Untold by Shannon Richard #ReleaseBlitzUntold by Shannon Richard
Published by Grand Central Publishing on September 5th 2017
Genres: Fiction, Romance, Contemporary, Coming of Age, Contemporary Women
Pages: 400
Format: eBook
Amazon//B&N//iBooks//Google Play//Kobo
Goodreads

SOMETIMES LOVE HAS A PLAN OF ITS OWN . . .
Brie Davis came to Mirabelle, Florida, for one thing: the funeral of her birth mother-a woman she never had a chance to know. Now Brie must sort through her mother's life to get the answers she was denied. She plans to leave as soon as she can . . . except the sexy veterinarian makes Brie's pulse beat faster than she's willing to admit.
Finn Shepherd knows Brie's only in town for a short while, but he can't stay away. Instead he finds himself looking for more reasons to keep her close. Finn's already had his fair share of heartbreak, yet Brie makes him want to take that risk again. Now all Finn has to do is convince her to take a chance on him . . . before she disappears from his life forever.
Look for more books in the Country Roads series!UndoneUndeniableUnstoppableUnforgettableUndressedUnsungUncontrollable

Find the Author: Website, Blog, Twitter, Facebook, Amazon, Instagram

Excerpt

“Are you leaving soon?”

“In a bit. I want to see the end of the game.”

“Really now?” He leaned in close to her again. And for what was probably the fiftieth time that night she could smell the clean masculine scent that clung to him. Soap and maybe a little aftershave combined with him. He smelled incredible.

So. Damn. Good.

“Yeah, I’m a Stampede fan now. I’m in it to win it.” She couldn’t stop herself from leaning in a bit closer herself.

“Commitment, I like it.”

“Yeah?”

“Yeah.” His smile grew and his eyes got more intense, the blue getting deeper. “It’s not the only thing I like either.”

“What else do you like?” Her voice dropped low as she spoke. Oh God, the more time she spent with him, the more he affected her. The closer he got to her, the more he affected her. The more he looked at her, the more he affected her.

He just affected her.

“About you? The list keeps growing, and growing. Give me twenty minutes and I’d be happy to tell you about it. In great detail.”

Her stomach flipped and the air in her lungs caught. This time her inability to breath had nothing to do with suffocating pressure. “What happens in twenty minutes?” She somehow managed to ask.

“The game is over.” He turned just a little bit so he could incline his head toward the TV, not taking his eyes off of her while he did it.

“You don’t need to stay here? Until closing?”

“Nope, just came in to help with the rush during the game. I’m free after that.”

“Right,” she nodded slowly, her stomach doing a summersault. “And if I said yes? What happens then?”

He moved back so that he was standing directly in front of her again, leaning in close. The nearness of him combined with the way he was looking at her and the topic of conversation—that she was 99.9% sure was one about them having sex—was making her pulse race. And that wasn’t the only thing he was doing to her. It was taking everything in her not to squirm in her seat. She somehow managed to subtly press her thighs together. It was all she could do to combat the swelling ache.

 

About Shannon Richard

Shannon Richard grew up in the Florida Panhandle as the baby sister of two overly protective but loving brothers. She was raised by a more than somewhat eccentric mother, a self-proclaimed vocabularist who showed her how to get lost in a book and a father who passed on his love for coffee and really loud music. She graduated from Florida State University with a BA in English Literature and still lives in Tallahassee where she battles everyday life with writing, reading, and a rant every once in a while. Okay, so the rants might happen on a regular basis. She's still waiting for her Southern, scruffy, Mr. Darcy, and in the meantime writes love stories to indulge her overactive imagination. Oh, and she's a pretty big fan of the whimsy.

A Love to Remember by Bronwen Evans #Review

A Love to Remember by Bronwen Evans #ReviewA Love to Remember by Bronwen Evans
Published by Random House Publishing Group on August 29th 2017
Genres: Fiction, Romance, Historical, Regency, Victorian, Suspense
Pages: 216
Format: eBook
Amazon
Goodreads
five-stars

A fiercely independent duchess and a brooding, reclusive earl are tested by the demands of desire in this unforgettable romance from the USA Today bestselling author of A Kiss of Lies and A Night of Forever.
For Rose Deverill, one husband was enough. As the wealthy widow of the Duke of Roxborough, she has cultivated an unsavory reputation meant to discourage wife hunters. Thanks to a string of steamy affairs, Rose is perfectly content to be known by polite society as the “Wicked Widow”—until she’s reunited with the man she fell in love with at age fifteen. Their bedroom encounters are scorching, but it breaks Rose’s heart to wonder whether her reckless behavior ruined her for Philip Flagstaff.
The second son of the Earl of Cumberland, Philip never wanted the title. But after Philip’s older brother, Robert, follows him into the Battle of Waterloo, his worst fears come to pass. Now Robert lies in a soldier’s grave, and Philip is determined never to pass on the inheritance to children of his own. Then Rose appears, soothing the pain with her delightful curves and passionate kisses. The notorious Duchess seems to want nothing from him—and yet Philip has never ached to give a woman more.
Don’t miss any of Bronwen Evans’s enchanting Disgraced Lords novels: A KISS OF LIES | A PROMISE OF MORE | A TOUCH OF PASSION | A WHISPER OF DESIRE | A TASTE OF SEDUCTION | A NIGHT OF FOREVER | ADDICTED TO THE DUKE | A LOVE TO REMEMBER
Advance praise for A Love to Remember
A Love to Remember by Bronwen Evans is an awesome read. Ms. Evans has gifted historical romance fans with yet another amazing story.”—Debjonesdiem
“I really loved this book.”—A Crazy Vermonter’s Book Reviews
“Sizzling romance and page-turning suspense make a read not to be missed! Loved it!”—Maeve Greyson, author of the Highland Heart Series
“With its complex characters, suspenseful plot, and steamy passion, Bronwen Evans’s A Love to Remember should not be missed. Readers will fall in love with Rose and Philip and stay up way past bedtime to cheer for their happily ever after.”—Shana Galen, bestselling author of I Kissed a Rogue
Includes an excerpt from another Loveswept title.

Review

A Love to Remember is book 7 in the Disgraced Lords series by Bronwen Evans although it can be read as a standalone. I’ve skipped around this series and have only read 4 books so far but I love these characters.

This is the story of Rose and Phillip. Rose was married at the age of 18 to her father’s friend, the Duke of Roxborough. He was more than twice her age and to say she was glad when he died would be an understatement. The one good thing that came from that marriage was her son, Drake. She has no desire to remarry and is known to the ton as the Wicked Widow. The one man who could change her mind about marriage is her lover of two years and childhood friend, Phillip.

Phillip, the Earl of Cumberland, lives with a lot of guilt since his brother, Robert, died taking a sword that was meant for him. He blames himself for Robert’s commission in the army and takes a vow to let the Earldom pass to his younger brother by never marrying or producing an heir. When Rose admits she wants more or their affair must end, he is torn. He wants to be with Rose but not in marriage. When Drake’s life is threatened, will he realize that maybe he has been too hard on himself and that he indeed loves Rose? Or will it be too late?

I love this series and Bronwen Evan’s writing. This is exactly what I’ve come to expect from the Libertine Scholars and I love devouring their stories. I say devour because so far I have read them all in one sitting. I look forward to reading the rest of this series and I might even re-read them all in order one day.

five-stars

How to Marry a Marquess by Stacey Reid #Review

How to Marry a Marquess by Stacey Reid #ReviewHow to Marry a Marquess by Stacy Reid
Series: Wedded by Scandal #3
Published by Entangled Publishing on August 14th 2017
Genres: Fiction, Romance, Historical, Regency, General
Pages: 279
Format: eBook
Amazon
Goodreads
four-stars

Lady Evie Chesterfield is a darling of the ton who refuses to become engaged. She's been desperately in love with her brother's friend, Richard Maitland, Marquess of Westfall, since forever. But the dark, dangerous marquess only sees her as a friend and refuses to marry any woman. When circumstances change and Evie has no choice but to take a husband, she decides to convince London's most notorious gentleman to marry her by seducing the scoundrel.
Richard Maitland decided long ago that he wanted nothing to do with love. So when the gorgeous, off-limits Evie asks him for lessons in seduction, Richard knows he's playing with fire. Despite Richard's determination to protect her from his dastardly reputation, he is tested at every turn by his need for the infuriating, but enticing, Lady Evie. Before too long he is faced with making an impossible choice...
Each book in the Wedded by Scandal series is a standalone story that can be enjoyed out of order. Series Order:Book #1 Accidentally Compromising the DukeBook #2 Wicked in His ArmsBook #3 How to Marry a Marquess

Find the Author: Website, Twitter, Facebook, Goodreads, Pinterest

Review

How to Marry a Marquess is the third book in the Wedded by Scandal series by Stacy Reid. I really enjoyed this book and the characters. Evie is 16 and Richard, 24 when we first meet them. Evie is distraught about the affections of an old Duke when Richard finds her. It was a humorous scene since Evie was puking and Richard covered it with a shovel.

Evie is being pushed to marry and she wants to marry Richard. He has been burned by women in the past and betrayed by one he loved and he has no intentions to marry. He surprises the ton when he discovers he has a daughter and moves her into his estate to take care of her. That just wasn’t done during those times and he is afraid that Evie won’t accept his daughter. Basically, they both have feelings for the other but neither thinks the other feels the same.

I loved that this book had a more modernish feel to it for a historical romance. It always makes me happy to see the characters defy what the ton expects of them and this book was very enjoyable because of that. I look forward to reading more in this series.

four-stars

Black Bird of the Gallows by Meg Kassel #ExcerptReveal

Black Bird of the Gallows by Meg Kassel #ExcerptRevealBlack Bird of the Gallows by Meg Kassel
Published by Entangled Publishing on September 5th 2017
Genres: Young Adult Fiction, Romance, Paranormal
Pages: 300
Goodreads

A simple but forgotten truth: Where harbingers of death appear, the morgues will soon be full.
Angie Dovage can tell there’s more to Reece Fernandez than just the tall, brooding athlete who has her classmates swooning, but she can’t imagine his presence signals a tragedy that will devastate her small town. When something supernatural tries to attack her, Angie is thrown into a battle between good and evil she never saw coming. Right in the center of it is Reece—and he’s not human.
What's more, she knows something most don't. That the secrets her town holds could kill them all. But that’s only half as dangerous as falling in love with a harbinger of death.

Find the Author: Website, Blog, Twitter, Facebook, Goodreads, Instagram, Tumblr

Excerpt

I’m seriously questioning the wisdom of coming here. Who is this boy? Who are these people? I may not want these answers. Whatever illusion I had been weaving about this being a normal family can’t be true. This is a family, yes, but one putting on an elaborate show to appear to be something they are not. “Everyday life can’t be so bad,” I say lightly, eager to change the subject before I start luring myself down a hole. “You have a beautiful home, a nice family. You’re popular at school. Kiera Shaw certainly likes you.”

He turns his gaze to me, slowly. “Kiera Shaw? You think I like her?”

“I don’t know what you like.” I don’t blink. I don’t look away. “I know only what I’ve seen.”

Reece leans close, gently entering my personal space. Close enough to put me on edge, but not close enough to intimidate. His voice is silk on gravel. His narrowed eyes glitter down at me. “And what, exactly, have you seen, Angie?”

Shivers race up my skin. I want to defuse this so badly, but I feel like this is a challenge I can’t lose. “I’ve seen and heard things that don’t make sense. Things I can’t understand.” I shift my gaze to my crow sitting on a branch above my head. It watches me with an intensity that would scare me if I wasn’t accustomed to it. “Tell me about the crows.”

He shakes his head. “Sorry. Either you know about them, or you don’t.”

My jaw tightens, even as I step toward him. I can feel his body heat. His clean, guy scent fills my senses with a unique magnetism that draws me close. Closer still. “I will find out.”

His gaze sweeps my face, lingering on my lips. “I hope not.” His breath warms my temple, sending a shiver under my skin. “There are worse things out there than a few watchful birds.”

“Like what?” I’m breathless, damn him. My words are barely audible.

His lashes fan low over his eyes. The narrow space between us crackles with tension. “Oh Angie, you don’t want to know.”

About Meg Kassel

Meg Kassel is an author of fantasy and speculative books for
young adults. A graduate of Parson's School of Design, she’s
always been creating stories, whether with visuals or words. She
worked as a graphic designer before realizing the thing she did
for pleasure (writing) was something she should do for real. Meg
is a New Jersey native who lives in a log house in the Maine
woods with her husband and daughter. A fan of ’80s cartoons,
Netflix series, and ancient mythology, Meg has always been
fascinated and inspired by the fantastic, the creepy, and the futuristic. When she’s not writing,
Meg is reading, hanging out with her family, hoarding peanut butter cups, or playing video
games. She is a two-time finalist and the 2016 winner of the RWA Golden Heart© contest in YA.

Giveaway

 a Rafflecopter giveaway