When a Rake Falls by Sally Orr #Review

When a Rake Falls by Sally Orr #ReviewWhen a Rake Falls by Sally Orr
Published by Sourcebooks Casablanca on April 7th 2015
Genres: Historical, Romance
Pages: 320
Format: eBook
Amazon
Goodreads
three-stars

To win a race to Paris, dashing Lord Boyce Parker hires a balloon. He expects to be crowned the victor and become famous for his courage and intelligence. Only then can he regain his father’s respect from the scandal of publishing the naughty book The Rake’s Handbook: Including Field Guide.
Bluestocking Miss Eve Mountfloy makes a bargain with the handsome Pink of the Ton. She’ll fly the balloon during the dangerous crossing to France, if he lets her finish her scientific experiments to predict violent storms and thereby save lives.
Eve proceeds with her studies, but the results are not what she expected. Chafing to keep warm creates unusual sensations everywhere. Then when Lord Parker asks if she is curious about the heat generated by a kiss, well, she is curious. It seems Lord Parker is performing experiments of his own that will forever change Eve’s perception of the word "results."

Review
 When a Rake Falls is the first book by Sally Orr I have read. I must say that I wasn’t all that impressed. I liked Boyce and Eve but this story was lacking continuity. There were times where it was really hard to follow what was happening and it got confusing. There is a lot of scientific talk in the middle of the story that in my opinion takes away from the story. I’m all for science and talking about science but it didn’t help this book out. I love that Eve is a female scientist and that Boyce helped her with her experiments. However, I think there was too much detail focused on those and not enough elsewhere. I got really bored halfway through and probably should have just given up but I don’t like not finishing a book.
three-stars

Puck Aholic by Lili Valente #Review

Puck Aholic by Lili Valente #ReviewPuck Aholic by Lili Valente
Series: Bad Motherpuckers #3
Published by Self Taught Ninja on July 11th 2017
Genres: Contemporary, Romance
Pages: 275
Format: eBook
Amazon
Goodreads
five-stars

I hate my new roommate.
And I want to do dirty, delicious things to her in that swing she installed that we both know has nothing to do with aerial yoga.
Neither of which is good, considering Diana Daniels is my NHL team captain’s little sister, and he will break my face if I’m not a perfect gentleman.
I try to be. Really, I do. But when Diana runs screaming down the hall wearing nothing but a damp washcloth, all my gentlemanly intentions go out the window. She’s got all sorts of Jedi mind tricks to make a man obsessed with getting her into bed, and I’m not gonna lie—I fall for every single one of them.
Especially the one where she warns me not to fall for her.
***
Everyone knows that banging your new roomie is a bad idea. And if it wasn’t for his sister’s stupid pet pig, Wanda, chasing me out of the bathroom mid-shower, Tanner Nowicki and I might still be able to pretend we hate each other.
But that pig totally has it out for me, and before I can warn Tanner that I don’t do relationships—or hockey players or my brother’s friends, for that matter—he’s doing me. Against the wall. And in his bed. And in my bed. And on a pinball machine where we get an all time high score.
And it’s so incredible that I start to forget that I’m the unluckiest woman alive when it comes to relationships. And pigs. And aerial yoga. And worst of all, love.
But hey, it’s not like I didn’t warn him…

Review
Puck Aholic is the third book in the Bad Motherpuckers series with each book reading as a standalone. The series is about a hockey team, meaning a lot of connections throughout the books (friends, family, etc.) This is Tanner (rookie) and Diana’s (Brendan’s sister/player) story.
Tanner has just finished up his rookie year and decides he needs to keep his focus by having zero summer flings. He’s not an one-night-stand kind of guy so he can totally do this. Then Diana comes strolling into the scene, saves his life on a beach and is his new roommate. As if that isn’t complicated enough, she happens to be his team captain’s sister! Complicated isn’t even the word for it now.
Diana has sworn off relationships since every one that she has been in has ended in disaster. She thinks it’s going to be easy but then her roommate ends up being the guy who pisses her off and turns her off at the same time. She thinks maybe they can have a hook-up and things will be okay until she discovers that he isn’t the friends-with-benefits type.
I think the funniest part of the book to me is the fact that Tanner has a pig and said pig doesn’t like Diana. I love that it was included in the story and it gave me plenty of giggles. This is a fantastic roommates to lover story that has a different feel to it with Tanner being a relationship guy and not a manwhore.
Lili Valente doesn’t disappoint! I honestly don’t think she could no matter how hard she tries. Puck Aholic is another must read!
five-stars

Storming the Castle by Arianna Hart #BlogTour #Review

Storming the Castle by Arianna Hart #BlogTour #Review

Storming the Castle by Arianna Hart #BlogTour #ReviewStorming the Castle by Arianna Hart
Published by Entangled Publishing on June 26th 2017
Genres: Contemporary, Romance
Pages: 335
Format: eBook
Amazon//B&N//iBooks//Kobo
Goodreads
four-stars

Sam Castleton has fame, houses all over the world, and one really big problem—he’s got an album due and he can’t write. All he wants is a quiet place to get his head straight. Dale, Georgia, seems like the perfect quiet spot to try to hear the music again and get some lyrics down on paper.
With her daughter’s paternal grandparents making a sudden appearance and the difficulties of running her own lodge and being a single mom, Faith Adams doesn’t have the time to worry about the mysterious stranger staying in one of her cottages, no matter how sexy he is.
Her newest guest may be surly, but his money is good, so she’s willing to overlook his surly nature. If only she could ignore the way he awakens a searing hunger in her…

Find the Author: Website, Twitter, Facebook, Goodreads
Review
Storming the Castle is book 3 in the Dale series by Arianna Hart but it can be read as a standalone. This is the first book I have read by Ms. Hart and I enjoyed it. It’s not what you would expect from a rocker romance and has a more down to earth feel to it.
Sam has basically been living out of a suitcase for the last couple of years. He is a little burnt out on the rock star life and needs some time to himself. He rents out a little bed and breakfast in Dale so that he can get some much needed alone time to clear his head and write for his album. The owner of the bed and breakfast is a single mom who enjoys the quiet life. Faith has worries of her own and tries not to worry about her surly guest.
Of course they have an intense chemistry that they try to ignore but in this sweet contemporary romance, there is bound to be a HEA. The characters are great and I really liked Faith’s daughter. I love stories that involve a single parent and this one even had the added drama of the paternal grandparents appearing. I’d recommend to anyone wanting to read a sweet romance.

About Arianna Hart

Arianna Hart enjoys spending time with her family, reading anything she can get her hands on, and of course writing! She'd love to spend her days on the beach with a drink in one hand and a book in the other, but until she wins the lottery she'll just have to settle for chasing her girls around the pool.

Giveaway

a Rafflecopter giveaway

four-stars

Talk British to Me by Robin Bielman #Review

Talk British to Me by Robin Bielman #ReviewTalk British to Me by Robin Bielman
Published by Entangled: Embrace on June 19th 2017
Genres: Contemporary, Romance
Pages: 345
Format: eBook
Amazon//B&N
Goodreads
four-half-stars

As the Dating Guy on L.A.‘s top morning show, I give the single guy’s perspective on dating, love, and sex—and I give great advice. Everyone’s hooking up…well, except for me. Sure, I can get any woman I want, but I’ve got a “no relationship” clause in my contract and the only woman I want has “relationship” written all over her. Probably stamped on her ass, too. And wouldn’t I like to confirm that.
Unfortunately, she wants nothing to do with me. At all. Something about the next Ice Age might have even come up in her rebuttal. Adorable. Because she’s determined to ignore what one simple kiss proved: she wants me as badly as I want her.
Everything in me is screaming to go after her, but I’ve got a secret that I’m fairly certain will end up with her roasting my nuts over an open fire. So, job on the line? Check. Nuts on the line? Check. Can’t get her out of my head? Nail…meet coffin. But what a way to go…

Find the Author: Website, Twitter, Facebook, Goodreads, Instagram
Review
When I first read the blurb for Talk British to Me, I knew it was something I wanted to read. I couldn’t wait to get my hands on it and that cover just made me want it more! I love the characters names, Mateo and Teague. The character development is phenomenal and something I have come to expect from Robin Bielman.
I will admit that I didn’t care much for Mateo at first. He was a little too over-the-top with his cocky attitude but he grew on me. I love Teague and her sass. She wasn’t persuaded by Mateo’s charms and made him work to earn her affection. You can feel the sexual tension building between these two and it made for a captivating story. If you’ve never read Robin Bielman, you should definitely give this book a shot.

About Robin Bielman

When not attached to her laptop, USA Today Bestselling Author Robin Bielman can almost always be found with her nose in a book. A California girl, the beach is her favorite place for fun and inspiration. Her fondness for swoon-worthy heroes who flirt and stumble upon the girl they can’t live without jumpstarts all of her story ideas.

She loves to go on adventures, and has skydived, scuba dived, parasailed, gotten lost in the wilderness (and only suffered a gazillion bug bites for it) hiked to waterfalls, and swam with dolphins. In her spare time she also likes to put her treadmill to good use while watching her favorite TV shows, take hikes with her hubby, indulge her sweet tooth, and play sock tug of war with her cute, but sometimes naughty dog, Harry.

She dreams of traveling to faraway places and loves to connect with readers. Keep in touch and sign up for her newsletter on her website at http://robinbielman.com.

 

four-half-stars

The Gamble, Sweet Dreams, and Lady Luck by Kristen Ashley #BookBlitz

The Gamble, Sweet Dreams, and Lady Luck by Kristen Ashley #BookBlitzThe Gamble by Kristen Ashley
Series: Colorado Mountain #1
Published by Forever on June 20th 2017
Genres: Contemporary, Romance
Pages: 640
Format: Paperback
Amazon//B&N
Goodreads

Love is the greatest gamble of all . . . Nina Sheridan desperately needs a timeout vacation. With a fiance who can't even remember how she takes her coffee, Nina wants some distance to rethink her engagement. Flying halfway around the world from England to a mountain town in Colorado should do the trick. But when she finds a gorgeous man at her rental cabin, Nina's cold, lonely adventure suddenly heats up. The owner of the house, Holden "Max" Maxwell is surprised by the beautiful woman who turns up at his door. But when Nina becomes ill, Max spends days nursing her back to health. A private man with a broken heart, Max finds himself drawn to the strong-willed woman. Soon it becomes impossible for Nina and Max to deny their growing attraction to one another. Yet even as these two wounded lovebirds think about taking a chance on a relationship, a dangerous secret from Max's past emerges-and threatens to end their love for good.

Find the Author: Website, Twitter, Facebook

The Gamble, Sweet Dreams, and Lady Luck by Kristen Ashley #BookBlitzSweet Dreams (Colorado Mountain, #2) by Kristen Ashley
Published by Forever on June 20th 2017
Pages: 656
Goodreads

"I adore Kristen Ashley's books!"---Maya Banks, New York Times bestselling author
When you lose everything, anything is possible. Lauren Grahame needs a whole new life. A simpler life. After leaving her cheating husband, she moves to Carnal, Colorado, takes a job as a waitress, and realizes she might have finally found the hometown she'd been searching for. Except things are about to get a lot more complicated . . . Lauren's fresh start does not include her growing feelings for her boss, Tate Jackson. She'll take the new friends, the new job, not to mention the incredible banana bread from the local coffee shop, but love is not on the agenda. However, the people of Carnal know chemistry when they see it, and they're not about to let Tate and Lauren miss their chance.

Find the Author: Website, Twitter, Facebook

The Gamble, Sweet Dreams, and Lady Luck by Kristen Ashley #BookBlitzLady Luck by Kristen Ashley
Series: Colorado Mountain #3
Published by Forever on June 20th 2017
Genres: Contemporary, Romance
Pages: 560
Format: Paperback
Amazon//B&N
Goodreads

Is love in the cards? Since birth, Lexie Berry has had nothing but bad luck. Orphaned at an early age, she had a rough childhood and a boyfriend who was murdered. Now the beautiful, stylish Lexie is determined to change her luck and her life. But first she's got to make good on a promise: to pick up Ty Walker from prison. One look at the gorgeous ex-convict and Lexie knows she's in trouble-and already thinking about taking a walk on the wild side . . . For five years, Ty was imprisoned for a crime he didn't commit. Now he wants revenge on the people who framed him. Yet when the high-stakes poker player sees the leggy Lexie, he suddenly has other desires on his mind. Realizing that Ty is innocent, Lexie tries to stop his plan for vengeance and help him become a better man. But as Ty battles his inner demons, dirty cops and criminals plot to take him out. Can he and Lexie find a way to escape the past?

Find the Author: Website, Twitter, Facebook

About Kristen Ashley

Kristen Ashley grew up in Brownsburg, Indiana, and has lived in Denver, Colorado, and the West Country of England. Thus she has been blessed to have friends and family around the globe. Her posse is loopy (to say the least) but loopy is good when you want to write.

Kristen was raised in a house with a large and multigenerational family. They lived on a very small farm in a small town in the heartland, and Kristen grew up listening to the strains of Glenn Miller, The Everly Brothers, REO Speedwagon, and Whitesnake.

Needless to say, growing up in a house full of music and love was a good way to grow up.

And as she keeps growing up, it keeps getting better.

Giveaway

Enter to win 1 of 5 sets of The Gamble, Sweet Dreams, and Lady Luck.

 a Rafflecopter giveaway

Hooked on Love by Jennie Marts #BlogTour #Review

Hooked on Love by Jennie Marts #BlogTour #Review

Hooked on Love by Jennie Marts #BlogTour #ReviewHooked on Love by Jennie Marts
Series: Cotton Creek #2
Published by Entangled: Lovestruck on October 17th 2016
Genres: Contemporary, Romance
Format: eBook
Amazon//B&N//iBooks//Kobo
Goodreads
four-stars

Chicago City Girl Tackles Colorado Mountains with Sexy, Reclusive Guide
Avery Oliver can see the byline now. What better way to jumpstart her journalism career than to head out into the woods with a sexy guide? It’s all very Bear Grylls, but she’ll take it, even if it means ditching her beloved designer suits and handbags.
All Sullivan Reed needs in life is a fly rod and the roar of a river. Playing guide to a hot little reporter can’t end well…until they strike a deal that’s mutually beneficial. She’ll pretend to be his girlfriend to deflect an overly flirtatious neighbor, and he’ll help her with the article. It’s a win-win.
Until it isn’t. By the time a storm strands them in his cabin, Sully’s done pretending. He wants Avery—badly—but she’s a big-city girl looking for adventure, not his simple life. So why does releasing her feel like he’s lost the perfect catch?

Find the Author: Website, Twitter, Facebook, Goodreads
Review
Avery is a city girl looking to jump start her journalism career. Sully is a country boy who doesn’t need anything but his fly rod. They strike up a deal that if Avery pretends to be his girlfriend, Sully will help her will her article. A storm leaves them stranded at his cabin and Sully’s true feelings emerge. Can he let her go?
I really enjoyed this book! I love romances that feature the hero and heroine from different backgrounds/ways of life. There’s just something about a couple who seems like they wouldn’t go together. I look forward to seeing what happens in the rest of this series.

About Jennie Marts

USA TODAY Best-selling author Jennie Marts loves to make readers laugh as she weaves stories filled with love, friendship, and intrigue. She writes for Entangled Publishing, and reviewers call her books “laugh out loud funny” and full of great characters that are “endearing and relatable.”
She is living her own happily ever after in the mountains of Colorado with her husband, two sons, two dogs, and a parakeet that loves to tweet to the oldies. She’s addicted to Diet Coke, adores Cheetos, and believes you can’t have too many books, shoes, or friends.
Her books include the contemporary western romance Hearts of Montana series, the romantic comedy/ cozy mysteries of The Page Turners series, the hunky hockey-playing men in the Bannister Brothers Books, and the small-town romantic comedies in the Lovestruck series of Cotton Creek Romances.

four-stars

The Right Kind of Guy by Kerri-Leigh Grady #ReleaseBlitz #Review

The Right Kind of Guy by Kerri-Leigh Grady #ReleaseBlitz #Review

The Right Kind of Guy by Kerri-Leigh Grady #ReleaseBlitz #ReviewThe Right Kind of Guy by Kerri-Leigh Grady
Series: What Happens in Vegas
Published by Entangled: Lovestruck on October 17, 2016
Genres: Contemporary, Romance
Pages: 136
Format: eBook
Amazon//B&N//iBooks//Google Play//Kobo
Goodreads
three-half-stars

Romance novelist Kelsey Spencer doesn’t believe in love, and she's tired of faking her way through happily ever afters. Determined to change things up, she heads to the Las Vegas Romance Lovers Convention. But somewhere between half-naked cover models and hot Navy SEALs, Kelsey’s plans derail...

Especially once she meets über-fan Jasmine Grant...and Jasmine’s über-hot alphahole brother, Aaron.

Buttoned-up Aaron Grant never thought he’d find himself at a romance convention, but here he is, trying to convince his impulsive sister not to marry a beefcake cover model. His only hope is to enlist the aid of the cynical (and sexy) romance writer his sister worships.

After a sweltering jaunt around Vegas, some strange conference hijinks, and one outrageous proposal, Kelsey and Aaron are left questioning everything they know about romance and love...and if falling in love might just be worth the gamble.

Find the Author: Website, Twitter, Facebook, Goodreads
Review
The Right Kind of Guy takes place at a romance author convention. Kelsey is an author who has found herself not believing in the romance she writes. To make matters worse all of her fans believe her work is based on events in her life. Her biggest fan, Jas, is just getting over a breakup and thinks the male models are a great way to get over that and move on towards the romance she believes still exists. Jas’s brother Aaron is there to look after her and enlists Kelsey’s help to reign Jas in. This leads to lots of adventure and Kelsey and Aaron coming to terms with how they really feel about romance.
I enjoyed the story for the most part. I felt Aaron was too overprotective and it was slightly annoying. At the same time, if Aaron weren’t so protective then the adventures he went on with Kelsey wouldn’t have existed. So I’m a little torn on that lol. The book was pretty hilarious so that’s a plus. Overall if you like romantic comedies then definitely read The Right Kind of Guy.

About Kerri-Leigh Grady

Kerri-Leigh Grady loves to sink into happily-ever-after tales and blow-up-all-the-things tales, especially when her testosterone-loaded house has hit its monthly limit of athletic socks and slapstick. She holds an MFA from Seton Hill University and a BS in computer science, so she’s a kind of half-artsy, half-nerd ball of nervous twitching. She has an unnatural love of dark humor, gadgets, chickpeas, BJJ, terrible acrylic landscapes, half-assed jewelry, and planners (Hobonichi and TN, natch). When the zombie apocalypse happens, she’s likely to be patient zero. If you see her bite someone, grab your water and head for your bunker.

three-half-stars

A Love So Dangerous by Lili Valente #Review

A Love So Dangerous by Lili Valente #ReviewA Love so Dangerous by Lili Valente
Published by Self Taught Ninja on August 29th 2016
Genres: Fiction, Romance, Suspense
Pages: 256
Format: eBook
Amazon
Goodreads
four-half-stars

Warning: This is one dark, dangerous, dirty-talking, adrenaline-fueled thrill ride. Are you ready?
I’ve got a big c*ck, a bigger bank account, and zero interest in Happily Ever After. I just want to feel alive, to look into a woman’s eyes and see something that’s going to keep my mind off all the shit I refuse to think about for an hour or two.
And then I meet her, a good girl with a body made for sin and ugly problems only a bad man can fix.
A bad man like me…
Gabe Alexander is the devil. Or an angel.
He’s a criminal hiding behind a millionaire dollar pedigree, but he also saved my life and my family. He’s the worst kind of bad news, but every time he touches me, and whispers filthy, beautiful things in my ear, all I want is more.
More of his kiss, his touch, and the dangerous, seductive things he makes me feel.
I don’t want to go bad, but the man makes it feel so damned good…
Warning Part the Second: A Love So Dangerous is the first in a three part series. It is a full-length novel that ends in a cliffhanger. It was formerly published as One Wild Night and This Wicked Rush by Jessie Evans.
Praise for the To the Bone series: 
"A steamy, high-octane love story that will have you wondering how far you'd go if you stopped playing by the rules." –NYT Bestseller Lauren Blakely
"WOW, just WOW! I'm screaming...right now because I need the next book, like yesterday...I am truly blown away." -Romance Readers Retreat Blog
“Well written with a heart breaking story, adorable and irresistible characters…the kind of books you do not forget and keep a paperback of, to re-read time after time!!!! I was crying like a baby or smiling like a lunatic!!!” –Moon Reviews 

“I loved it and you will too. I read the series twice in record time. I’m still thinking of it weeks later…[Lili Valente] is a story teller we romantics dream of.” -Books and Beyond Fifty Shades

Review
 Caitlyn is young and extremely stressed out. She dropped out of high school and is now raising her three younger brothers and 3-year-old niece since her mom and sister bailed and her dad is a drunk. She is about to lose it all too. On the night of her 20th birthday, she goes out dancing with her friend. She loses herself in the music and finds herself grinding on an old classmate, Gabe. Gabe comes from a very wealthy family and doesn’t really understand why Caitlyn “enables” her parents and sister. He decides that he wants to help her out and talks her into being Maid Marian to his Robin Hood. Things heat up between them fast but will it last?
I loved this book! I really feel for Caitlyn and how stressed out she is all the time. Raising 1 kid at the age of 20 is hard enough but 4 is tremendously difficult. When Gabe offers to help her out I wasn’t surprised at the form of the offer. He just had a bad boy vibe from the get go so his thievery fit. The reasons he was doing it was a little surprising though.
This book ends on a cliffhanger so I’m waiting in suspense for the next book. It’s been a while since I read a book with a cliffhanger that made me want to read the next book so I enjoyed that. I can’t wait to see what Lili Valente has in store for the characters next!
four-half-stars

Totally, Sweetly Irrevocably by Kira Archer #BlogTour #Review

Totally, Sweetly Irrevocably by Kira Archer #BlogTour #Review

Totally, Sweetly Irrevocably by Kira Archer #BlogTour #ReviewTotally, Sweetly, Irrevocably by Kira Archer
Series: Sweet Love #2
Published by Entangled: Lovestruck on July 18th 2016
Genres: Contemporary, Romance
Pages: 176
Format: eBook
Amazon//B&N//iBooks//Kobo
Goodreads
four-stars

When Officer Rick Boyd answers a call about a peeping Tom, he doesn’t expect to find a gorgeous woman holding the binoculars. But Gina Silvano’s no peeping Tom, and she can catch her cupcake truck’s kinky vandals herself, thank you very much. No sexy cops required.
No matter how hot their stakeouts, by-the-book Officer Boyd can’t see a future with a dangerous, rule-breaking wild-child who despises the law. He’s never felt more alive, though, and expunging her from his heart might be impossible.
But loving each other might cost them more than they are able to give.

Find the Author: Website, Twitter, Facebook, Goodreads, Amazon, Instagram, Pinterest
Review
Gina’s ex has been breaking into her food truck and she is determined to catch him in the act. Unfortunately for her, a neighbor calls the cops saying she is a peeping tom. Officer Rick is the one to respond and when he meets Gina there are definitely sparks flying. He decides to help her stake out the truck and after that they can’t seem to stay away from each other.
There were some hilarious moments in this book as well as it being cute and sweet. I loved Gina! She is sassy and defiant as well as funny. She is the complete opposite of Rick and I thought that dynamic worked very well. I look forward to more from Kira Archer and this series.
Totally, Sweetly Irrevocably by Kira Archer #BlogTour #ReviewTruly, Madly Sweetly by Kira Archer
Series: Sweet Love #1
Published by Entangled: Lovestruck Genres: Contemporary, Romance
Amazon//B&N//iBooks//Kobo
Goodreads

An inherited parking spot. That’s all it took to make Natalie Moran’s food truck dreams come true. But her dream space is attached to a bakery inherited by someone else—drop dead gorgeous Eric Schneider, a financial consultant who wouldn’t know a cupcake from a cannoli. And he wants to buy Nat out, no matter what she has to say about it.

Eric’s determined to build his own business, but he needs the super cute klutz with the cupcake truck to help. If Nat will teach him the basics of running a bakery, he’ll give her free kitchen time. Except…neither expects the heat burning between them or the possibility that their arrangement might become permanent.

When it all blows up, Nat is convinced his actions mean betrayal. It’s up to Eric to regain her trust and show her he’s a man who is truly, madly in love with her, before she disappears from his life forever.

Find the Author: Website, Twitter, Facebook, Goodreads, Amazon, Instagram, Pinterest

About Kira Archer

Kira Archer resides in Pennsylvania with her husband, two kiddos, and far too many animals in the house. She tends to laugh at inappropriate moments, break all the rules she gives her kids (but only when they aren’t looking), and would rather be reading a book than doing almost anything else. She has odd, eclectic tastes in just about everything and often lets her imagination run away with her. She loves her romances a little playful, a lot sexy, and always with a happily ever after.

Giveaway
Totally Sweetly Irrevocably Giveaway Graphic

a Rafflecopter giveaway

four-stars

The Proverbial Mr. Universe by Maria La Serra #BlogTour #Review

The Proverbial Mr. Universe by Maria La Serra #BlogTour #Review

The Proverbial Mr. Universe by Maria La Serra #BlogTour #ReviewThe Proverbial Mr. Universe by Maria La Serra
on June 13th 2016
Genres: Contemporary, Romance
Pages: 239
Format: eBook
Amazon//B&N
Goodreads
three-half-stars

Dear girl with the red scarf,Love was never meant to be conquered, you have to surrender to it.Trust me. After all, I am Mr. Universe.
When the universe conveys a message, you listen.
Olivia Montiano just caught her fiancé cheating. Now she is forced to question what she wants out of life and love. Striving to live up to her father’s unrealistic standards for the past twenty-three years, every decision she has ever made was with her father’s wishes in mind—until she finds mysterious, handwritten letters tucked away in places only meant for her. That’s when she realizes she’s been on the wrong path all along and gives her heart to a guy her father thinks is entirely wrong.
Washed-up abstract artist Nick Montgomery has had quite a few setbacks in life. He’s accustomed to never needing anyone, thinking he’s just fine—until he meets the girl with the red scarf. She’s not his type. But the universe has other ideas. Nick has a secret he’s keeping from her, afraid it will bring their new relationship to a sudden halt.
Will they figure out what the universe holds for them?

Find the Author: Website, Twitter, Facebook, Goodreads
Review
Olivia has finally gotten out of a relationship where she was mentally abused. Nick is so intrigued by her after their first meeting that he basically stalks her. The timing is completely wrong for them to have a relationship since they both are newly single. Olivia’s father also disapproves of them having a relationship. Then Olivia starts receiving anonymous notes from someone who calls themselves Mr. Universe.
I loved the premise of this book… a girl receiving anonymous notes to help her find out who she really is and what is important in life. The notes were probably the best part of the story. The characters felt lacking at times. Overall, I enjoyed this book.

About Maria La Serra

Maria La Serra, a fashion designer, turned writer, lives in Montreal with her husband and two children. She will try everything at least once, except for skiing, hiking or camping-okay anything relating to activities done in the great outdoors. The Proverbial Mr. Universe is her first novel.

three-half-stars