Crimson Sky by Amy Braun #Review

Crimson Sky by Amy Braun #ReviewCrimson Sky by Amy Braun
Published by Amy Braun on February 2nd 2016
Genres: Young Adult, Fantasy, Dystopian
Pages: 240
Format: eBook
Amazon
Goodreads

They’re always watching. They’re always waiting. They’re always starving…
Ten years ago, the sky shattered and the Hellions emerged. No one was able to keep them from destroying the city of Westraven. Now that the bloodthirsty monsters rule the skies and have forced the few remaining humans underground, Claire Abernathy lives in a nightmare. She survives by using her skills as an engineer for a ruthless tyrant connected to her mother and father’s past failure.
Then Claire’s world is torn apart when her sister Abby is kidnapped by the Hellions, and Claire herself is taken by dangerous sky pirates known as marauders. But Claire will not be intimidated by them while her sister’s life hangs by a thread, and so she strikes a deal with them: If they help rescue Abby, she will fix their ship and give them the chance to take the revenge they desperately seek.
As Claire fights for her sister’s life, she begins to realize that the Hellions are not the only dangers she’ll face. Burdensome secrets and devastating betrayals threaten her at every turn, and if she loses herself to them, it won’t just be her life that is destroyed…

Review
Claire’s world is filled with blood sucking aliens called Hellions that are out to kill Westraven citizens. When the Hellions kidnap Claire’s sister, she will do whatever it takes to get her back. She learns that the world is full of threats not just the Hellions. There are secrets and betrayals that will also stand in her way. She teams up with some sky pirates for help in finding her sister and getting her back. She develops a relationship with one of the sky pirates.
Crimson Sky is the first book I have read by Amy Braun. She creates a world full of brutality and puts enough love in the story that it evens it out. This is an action packed read from start to finish and I really enjoyed it. I was hooked from the beginning and wanted to know what happened so badly that I couldn’t sleep until I finished it.

The Afterlife of Alyx & Israel by Hanna Peach #Review

The Afterlife of Alyx & Israel by Hanna Peach #ReviewThe Afterlife of Alyx & Israel by Hanna Peach
Series: Dark Angel #6
Published by Gypsy Publishing on July 3rd 2016
Genres: Fantasy, Young Adult
Format: eBook
Goodreads

Once upon a lifetime, Alyx & Israel lost each other...
In their new mortal lives, Alyx & Israel don't remember anything about their past. And they have never crossed paths. Until some old friends decide to secretly nudge destiny along, their efforts almost destroying everything…
Now Alyx’s life lies in the balance, trapped in a coma deep within a DreamScape maze city. The only one who can help her escape is Israel, a man she doesn't remember. They need to find a mysterious Mapmaker and solve his riddle. But is this Mapmaker hiding something?
Although this book is set years after the Dark Angel saga, it can be read as a standalone.
On sale at a special release price. Limited time only.

Also in this series: Angelfire
Review
The Afterlife of Alyx & Israel is book 6 in the Dark Angel series. It doesn’t have to be read after the other 5 but I would highly suggest it.
Alyx and Israel have no recollection of their past life or even each other. They are just two mortals living their separate lives with a sense of loss. Luckily they have friends that will do what it takes to put them back in each other’s lives even if they don’t know it.
Hanna Peach did an excellent job yet again. This entire series was beautifully written. I loved the romance in the Afterlife. This is definitely a must read.

Angelblood by Hanna Peach #Review

Angelblood by Hanna Peach #ReviewAngelblood by Hanna Peach
Series: Dark Angel #4
Published by Gypsy Publishing on June 2nd 2014
Genres: Fantasy, Young Adult
Pages: 241
Format: eBook
Amazon
Goodreads
five-stars

Seven days…
Israel seems…different since he came out of his coma. His life has been saved but Alyx had to make a deal with the devil to do so. She has to hand Israel over to Lucifer unless she finds a way to defeat Samyara. But to do this Alyx will need Israel and Jordan, the two men fighting for her heart, to work together. Can they put aside their differences long enough to defeat Samyara?
Seven days until Israel is sentenced to Hell. Seven days to find Samyara. Seven days to raise an army.
This will be Alyx’s greatest battle yet.

Also in this series: Angelfire
Review
Angelblood picks up right where Angelsong left off. Hanna Peach does a wonderful job with the continuation of this series.
The thing about Angelblood that sets it apart from the rest of the series is that it takes place over the course of 7 days. Alyx is feeling the effects of the deal she made with Balthazar to save Israel. There is a limited amount of time to complete the terms of that deal or one of them dies. All the while this is going on, she is still trying to sort through her feelings for Israel and Jordan. I thought this made a great counterpoint for the story.
This series is so hard to put down and there are not many series that can hold my attention four books in but Hanna Peach does a wonderful job.
five-stars

Angelsong by Hanna Peach #Review

Angelsong by Hanna Peach #ReviewAngelsong by Hanna Peach
Series: Dark Angel #3
Published by Gypsy Publishing on October 18th 2013
Genres: Young Adult, Fantasy
Pages: 282
Format: eBook
Amazon
Goodreads
five-stars

Israel lies dying from demon poison. To save him, Alyx needs the recipe for the cure, supposedly contained within the Threads of Dark, and she needs Mayrekk’s knowledge of herbs to make it.
But Mayrekk remains imprisoned in Michaelea, being punished for his hand in Alyx’s escape, and Michael himself guards the key to Mayrekk’s freedom. The Threads of Dark is sealed within a secret chamber deep under the Archives of Urielos, a Seraphim city clinging to cliffs somewhere along the coast of Italy. Even if Alyx does manage to find a way into the city, the chamber is guarded by ancient riddles and deadly traps…
Can Alyx rescue Mayrekk and retrieve the Threads of Dark before Israel slips away?

Also in this series: Angelfire
Review
Angelsong is book 3 in the Dark Angel series. I’m not sure if I’m going to be able to adequately describe how much I love this book because I don’t want to give any spoilers away.
Alyx is amazing in this installment. She is trying to save Israel from death and she goes through all sorts of trials to accomplish this. On top of that she still hasn’t made a decision about whether she is going to be with Israel or Jordan. Although I will say I can understand more about the toughness of that decision after reading this book.
I can’t wait to see where Hanna Peach takes this series next. It’s just so exciting and fast paced! I literally have been able to do nothing but think about these books. Be warned that once you start this series, you will have to finish it.
five-stars

Angelstone by Hanna Peach #Review

Angelstone by Hanna Peach
Series: Dark Angel #2
Published by Gypsy Publishing on May 29th 2013
Genres: Young Adult, Fantasy
Pages: 264
Format: eBook
Amazon
Goodreads
four-stars

After escaping from the Hollows, Jordan takes Alyx and Israel to Aradale, a secret Rogue community, where they appear to be safe − for now. But did they bring the enemy with them? “Mini”, the strange and speechless young girl they rescued from the Hollows, is not as she seems. Why was Elder Michael keeping her locked up? What is she hiding?
Out in the mortal cities, pieces of Black Stone, the only material that can disrupt the angels’ healing abilities, continue to be stolen to make weapons for Samyara’s dark army. Alyx and her friends must stop them, but this means infiltrating holy and guarded places to steal the Black Stone − a monastery in remote China, a mosque in Saudi Arabia, an art gallery in Florence and a cathedral in Peru.
Can they win this deadly race against the Darkened?

Also in this series: Angelfire
Review
Angelstone is the second book in the Dark Angels series and picks up right where Angelfire left off. Things are not going well for Alyx and Israel. They are having problems in their relationship. There is also a war going on and they are on the run from the Darkened and some Angels.
This book really expands on the relationship between the mortal world and the Seraphim world. There are more details about how the angels hide from the humans than in the first book. I really enjoyed learning more about this because I had some questions about it after reading Angelfire.
There are times in the book where Alyx came across as petty and childish and I was a little disappointed. But she is young so most people act like that at that age so I can overlook it. Hanna Peach did a wonderful job on the continuation of this series.
four-stars

Angelfire by Hanna Peach #Review

Angelfire by Hanna Peach #ReviewAngelfire by Hanna Peach
Series: Dark Angel #1
Published by Gypsy Publishing on November 22nd 2012
Genres: Young Adult, Fantasy
Pages: 247
Format: eBook
Amazon
Goodreads
five-stars

Forget everything you know about angels…
You’ll likely find Alyxandria slicing demons with her blades rather than plucking at harp strings. Whether it's with weapons, unarmed or with the “borrowed magics” of distilled angel-blood tattoos, she trains harder than any other Seraphim warrior to prove she is nothing like her parents who abandoned her to become Rogues.
After a series of confusing visions, Alyx saves Israel, a mysterious mortal who knows too much. She discovers she has been chosen as his Guardian. There’s just one problem. She is forbidden to even see him again.Why does he need protecting? And from who?
The web of lies she uncovers will shatter her world.
An Elders’ dark plan, a keye to unlock Hell, and a prophecy that warns of the greatest war this Earth will ever know…
It begins in Angelfire.

Also in this series: Angelstone
Review
Angelfire is the first in the Dark Angel series and it was an awesome start! Alyx is a badass. She is a Lightwarrior who is very headstrong and fierce. She always stands up for herself and what she thinks is right. When she starts having visions, she doesn’t want anyone to know. Of course, that is not easy to hide since she can’t control when they happen. She has no idea who this guy is but she keeps seeing things through his eyes as they happen and she is determined to find him.
Israel is a mortal who can see demons. Mortals are not supposed to be able to actually see the demon faces behind their human masks. Their also not supposed to know that Lightwarriors exist. When he first lays eyes on Alyx, he knows she isn’t mortal.
It also seems their destinies are intertwined. They develop a Guardian-Bond which is extremely rare. Because of this bond, there are many emotions and feelings involved. Alyx is constantly drawn to Israel especially when they are near each other.
I really enjoyed this book. I would highly recommend it but be sure you have time to read all 6 books because this is one series that cannot be started without finishing all the books. It will leave you wanting more.
five-stars

Forget Me Not by Allison Whitmore #BlogTour #Review

Forget Me Not by Allison Whitmore #BlogTour #Review

Forget Me Not by Allison Whitmore #BlogTour #ReviewForget Me Not by Allison Whitmore
Published by Booktrope Editions on September 15th 2015
Genres: Historical, Romance, Young Adult
Pages: 368
Format: eBook
Amazon
Goodreads
four-half-stars

Theodora "Teddi" Donovan and Calvin Wynne have always hated each other. They didn't have a choice after Teddi's bootlegger father killed Calvin's and left them both orphaned. The scandal has fueled gossip in quiet, quaint Brookhurst, New York, for over a decade. When a friendship develops between them as teenagers, they are ridiculed and shunned by the strict society that dictates life in their town. As they grow older, friendship turns into love, and Teddi and Calvin have to choose between their future and the scepter of their past. Spanning continents and decades, Forget Me Not is a coming-of-age story about truth, self-reliance, and the freeing power of love.

Find the Author: Website, Twitter, Facebook, Goodreads
Review
Forget Me Not is set in the time of the second world war. I love reading books that have that part of history in them. Overall, it spans a couple of decades and has quite a bit of history in it.
Teddi’s father killed Calvin’s father when they were young. However, as teenagers Teddi and Calvin became really good friends. This friendship eventually turned into love. Back during this time, everyone held grudges so Teddi and Calvin face a lot ridicule because of their relationship. This story shows how secrets can destroy everything but it also is about friends and family.
I look forward to reading more from Allison Whitmore.

About Allison Whitmore

Allison Whitmore started her first novel, Forget Me Not, one icy morning in her dorm room in Southampton, NY. After many years of teaching high school English, she came back to the novel to rewrite it. Allison comes from a family who loves history and enjoyed immersing herself in the research that brought Teddi and Calvin’s world to life. She lives in her hometown, Los Angeles, California. You can find her on Twitter @alli_whitmore and her website: allisonwhitmore.com.

four-half-stars

Flying Blind by Caroline A. Gill #BlogTour #Review

Flying Blind by Caroline A. Gill #BlogTour #Review

Flying Blind by Caroline A. Gill #BlogTour #ReviewFlying Blind by Caroline A. Gill
Series: The Flykeeper Chronicles #2
on May 21st 2016
Genres: Dystopia, Paranormal, Young Adult
Pages: 260
Format: eBook
Amazon
Goodreads
four-stars

In a broken America, seventeen-year old Iolani Bearse encounters a world full of wonder and danger.

Lani discovers a secret: houseflies have magic.

Stealers have no mercy.

Armed with memory-draining lanterns, the stone-cold hunters relentlessly follow catastrophes, laying traps, preying on the weak.

Together with her father, Eleanor, Sam, and Mango, her beloved pinto mare, Lani rescues victims from the grasp of Memory Stealers. One by one, she saves whomever she can, looking for any path that leads to safety. When her family’s farmhouse is attacked, Lani must act quickly to save those she loves.

Can Lani unmask their powerful, hidden enemies before the flies’ magic fails and everything burns to ashes?

Will the loss of one of her greatest friends become her downfall?

Can Lani overcome the evil that is tearing her world apart, flying blind?

Find the Author: Website, Facebook, Goodreads
Review
Flying Blind is an excellent continuation of Flying Away. These books definitely need to be read in order to understand what is going on. Flying Blind picks up right where the first book ends.
In this book, we get a more in-depth look at the lives of the flies and how they act. Iolani gets into more trouble in this book as is to be expected. I believe Flying Blind is just as heart-wrenching as the first book if not more. The addition of a few new characters made this book so much more enjoyable.
I feel like this review is a little all over the place but the book is the same way so I think it’s fitting. This series is definitely a weird one but I enjoy it immensely.

About Caroline A. Gill

Unusual stories attract me, ones in which the reader cannot easily see the ending or most of the journey. Visiting Rome during university studies, I found a simple truth sitting on buses, traveling all over the ancient city: the joy is in the Journey, in the people I meet, not in the destination. So, I write for you. I write for sanity. I write for chocolate and really good pizza.

four-stars

Hope by Grier Cooper #BlogTour #Review

Hope by Grier Cooper #BlogTour #Review

Hope by Grier Cooper #BlogTour #ReviewHOPE by Grier Cooper
Series: Indigo Ballet Series #2
Published by Dancing Poodle Press on April 26th 2016
Genres: Young Adult
Pages: 302
Format: eBook
Amazon
Goodreads
four-stars

Perfection. Beauty. Pain. This is life for Indigo Stevens at the famed New York School of Ballet, where there’s no such thing as weakness or privacy and every movement is scrutinized and judged. Indigo hopes she’ll be chosen for the company, but her ballet teachers aren’t talking and their silence is confusing.
When Indigo is singled out for a coveted solo she feels her dreams are finally within reach, until she discovers she’s dancing with Felipe Gonzalez, the school’s smolderingly hot rising star. In the days that follow, Indigo questions everything she thought was true and finds herself making surprising choices. Can she go for her dreams without losing herself?

Find the Author: Website, Twitter, Facebook, Goodreads, Amazon
Also in this series: Wish
Review
Hope is the second book in the Indigo Ballet Series and should be read after Wish (book one). Indigo made into the New York School of Ballet which has been her dream. However, she is starting to feel defeated since she isn’t sure if the teachers are being so hard on her because they think she needs that much improvement or because she is good. She starts to think that maybe her dream isn’t what she pictured it to be.
I enjoyed this book as much as did the first one. I love that there is a glossary at the back for the dance terms used throughout so that anyone not familiar with ballet will be able to follow along. I also love the detail that is given to the dance moves and the way the characters feel while dancing especially through the pain.
four-stars

Wish by Grier Cooper #Review

I received this book for free from in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Wish by Grier Cooper #ReviewWish by Grier Cooper
Series: Indigo Ballet Series #1
Published by Smashwords Edition on December 2nd 2014
Genres: Young Adult
Pages: 303
Format: eBook
Amazon
Goodreads
four-stars

For Indigo Stevens, ballet classes at Miss Roberta’s ballet studio offer the stability and structure that are missing from her crazy home life. At almost 16, she hopes this is the year she will be accepted into the New York School of Ballet. First she must prove she’s ready, and that means ignoring Jesse Sanders – the cute boy with dimples who is definitely at the top of Miss Roberta’s List of Forbidden Things for Dancers.
But Jesse is the least of Indigo’s concerns. When she discovers her mom is an alcoholic, it simultaneously explains everything and heaps more worry on Indigo’s shoulders. As her mom’s behavior becomes increasingly erratic, Indigo fights to maintain balance, protect her younger brothers from abuse, and keep her mother from going over the edge. When the violence at home escalates, Indigo realizes she can no longer dance around the issue. At the risk of losing everything, she must take matters into her own hands before it’s too late.

Find the Author: Website, Twitter, Facebook, Goodreads, Amazon
Also in this series: HOPE
Review
Wish is the story of Indigo and her dream to dance professionally. She hopes this will be the year that she gets accepted to the New York School of Ballet. That means hours of practice to prove she is ready. Add on top of that her mother’s constant yelling and trying to stay away from a boy she really likes and this is a stressful time to say the least. Indigo must take things into her own hands if she wants to live her dream.
I love anything dance related so when I first saw the cover for Wish, I knew I wanted to read it. Ballet is difficult and Grier Cooper describes the moves in such detail that you can picture what it would feel like to perform them. I love Indigo and look forward to more of her story.
four-stars