Royal Disaster by Parker Swift #Review

Royal Disaster by Parker Swift #ReviewRoyal Disaster by Parker Swift
Published by Forever Yours on April 2nd 2017
Genres: Romance, Contemporary
Pages: 320
Format: eBook
Amazon
Goodreads
three-stars

"Emotional, intense and beyond sexy. Dylan Hale will light your panties on fire, not that you'll be allowed to wear them anyway." - Helena Hunting, New York Times bestselling author "He's not who you think he is . . . "
Meeting Dylan Hale has turned my life upside down. I'm dating an actual duke who's devastatingly handsome and deliciously naughty. On the surface, I'm living the high life. But this surreal world of royalty and paparazzi is getting out of control.
Someone knows way too much about Dylan and me-about the moments when we're alone, about how his hands leave a trail of fire over my skin . . . about the complete control he has over me between the sheets. And worse, it's starting to become clear that Dylan's keeping secrets from me, too . . .

The Royal Scandal series:

Book 1- Royal AffairBook 2- Royal DisasterBook 3- Royal Treatment

Find the Author: Twitter, Instagram
Review
Royal Disaster is the second book in the Royal Scandal series. It picks up a few weeks after Royal Affair ends with Dylan and Lydia’s relationship being exposed to the public. Lydia must learn to deal with the media and what being in a relationship with Dylan truly means. That also means she has to deal with his family and the ones that think a Duke being with a commoner is not right.
Again, this trope is very played out and it was predictable. Lydia really grew throughout this book and that was interesting to see. Unfortunately, I really don’t like when authors can’t remember their own story and contradict themselves between books. That happens when in Royal Affair Lydia’s high school boyfriend is talked about yet in Royal Disaster it is said that she has never had a boyfriend. Things like this bother me to no end. If I as a reader can remember this, then as an author or editor, it should have been caught.
Overall, I didn’t hate this book but I didn’t love it either.

About Parker Swift

Parker Swift grew up in Providence, Rhode Island, and then grew up again in New York, London, and Minneapolis and currently lives in Connecticut. She has spent most of her adult life examining romantic relationships in an academic lab as a professor of social psychology. Now, she's exploring the romantic lives of her fictional characters in the pages of her books. When she's not writing, she spends her time with her bearded nautical husband and being told not to sing along to pop music in the car by her two sons.

three-stars

Royal Affair by Parker Swift #Review

Royal Affair by Parker Swift #ReviewRoyal Affair by Parker Swift
Published by Forever Yours on February 14th 2017
Genres: Romance, Contemporary
Pages: 352
Format: eBook
Amazon
Goodreads
three-half-stars

One seriously sexy son-of-a-duke . . .
Behind the posh British accent, Dylan Hale possesses a down-and-dirty sexiness. Off-the-charts gorgeous, a ruthless architect . . . and did I mention he's a future duke? Every time we touch, it's wildfire. All need and lust and heat. But Dylan has rules: just sex, no one can know, and in the bedroom he gets complete control. All I have to do is follow the rules, because falling in love with Dylan Hale is all it would take to screw everything up . . . royally.

Royal Scandal Series
Book 2: Royal DisasterBook 3: Royal Treatment

Find the Author: Twitter, Instagram
Review
Royal Affair is about, you-guessed-it, a royal and a non-royal. This trope is super overdone and so of course a few things felt familiar. I thought the author did a great job though at times it felt predictable.  One thing I will say is there was too much sex. Shocking I know but it got old after a bit and I was like seriously stop already. Don’t get me wrong the dirty talk was hot but it was just too much. Or maybe it was that it just felt boring. I’m not sure which. Overall, the book was decent and I will be reading the next one.

About Parker Swift

Parker Swift grew up in Providence, Rhode Island, and then grew up again in New York, London, and Minneapolis and currently lives in Connecticut. She has spent most of her adult life examining romantic relationships in an academic lab as a professor of social psychology. Now, she's exploring the romantic lives of her fictional characters in the pages of her books. When she's not writing, she spends her time with her bearded nautical husband and being told not to sing along to pop music in the car by her two sons.

three-half-stars

An Earl by Any Other Name by Lauren Smith #ReleaseBlitz

An Earl by Any Other Name by Lauren Smith #ReleaseBlitzAn Earl by Any Other Name by Lauren Smith
Published by Forever Yours on August 1, 2017
Genres: Historical, Romance
Pages: 164
Format: eBook
Amazon//B&N//iBooks//Google Play//Kobo
Goodreads

An earl in the streets, a rogue in the sheets . . .

Leopold Graham, Lord Hampton, was never a man to let propriety stand in the way of his pursuit of pleasure. Hedonism is his only desire in life---until his father's death saddles him with debts that threaten to bankrupt the entire family. Now the only thing that stands between him and utter ruin is marriage to a proper, and preferably wealthy, young lady.

Ivy Leighton is no sweet English rose. Perhaps it's her gypsy roots, but she would rather make a spectacle of her independent spirit than sit quietly on the sidelines. If that means that the only place she'll ever have in society is firmly on the shelf, then so be it. But when Ivy runs into the handsome, rakish Leo who's looking for a respectable, well-bred wife, she can't stop thinking about the troubles they can get into. Now she just has to convince him that a life with her is really what he needs.

Find the Author: Website, Twitter, Facebook, Amazon

Excerpt

     Without so much as another word, he bent his head. When their mouths were an inch apart, he captured her gaze, and something wild and hot passed between them as he slanted his mouth over hers. All worries and fears were destroyed in the wake of pleasure and fire.

Heat and light burned through at that single kiss, like tender sparks shooting through the night over a healthy fire. A little moan escaped her as he teased her mouth open with his tongue. One of his hands grasped her hip, holding her firm between him and the tree as he pressed against her. The heady aroma of autumn leaves, leather, and sandalwood sent her senses spinning.

With gentle kisses and a wicked tongue, he taught her all the ways she’d longed to kiss. It was the sort of kiss the upstairs maids whispered about, the kind that made a woman lose her head… and her heart.

     This is a terrible idea. I should stop him…but… The will to break the kiss faded like morning mist. Once upon a time, there had been nothing more she had wanted in her life, a kiss from her sunny-haired prince. But she’d changed; she’d grown up and a man’s kiss shouldn’t have been so potent that it cast a spell over her. Yet, Leo’s kiss was exactly that, a spell that bound her to him in a way she feared would break her heart.

He nipped her lips, and she felt his mouth curve into a smile against hers before he finally drew back. His eyes were dark with passion, and his breathing was rough and warm against her face. Their bodies were so close, the intimacy making her feel like there was nothing outside of them in that moment.

“Why do I have the feeling you are going to be trouble, Miss Leighton?” Leo chuckled, suddenly drawing a fingertip down her nose and tapping it lightly, the way he had so often all those years ago.

“Trouble?” she echoed faintly. Still shaken by her first kiss and the shivery warmth spreading through her limbs, she dared not move for fear of falling. Love was dangerous; love ruined a woman’s dreams. And Leo was the one man who could tempt her into falling in love.

“Oh yes. Just when I have everything planned, you come along and remind me of why I used to be so wicked.” He bent, feathered one last kiss to her lips before he took her arm in his and escorted her back to the house.

Ivy did not look at him. She felt changed. Their secret moment had awakened her and melted whatever defenses she’d thought she’d built again his charm. How was she ever going to think clearly when all she wanted to do was relive that kiss? The carefully crafted battlements around her heart quivered, trembled, the walls crumbling.

Oh dear…

About Lauren Smith

LAUREN SMITH, winner of the 2014 Historical International Digital Award, attended Oklahoma State University, where she earned a B.A. in both history and political science. Drawn to paintings and museums, Lauren is obsessed with antiques and satisfies her fascination with history by writing and exploring exotic, ancient lands. She is currently an attorney in Tulsa, Oklahoma.

Giveaway

Enter to win 1 of 15 free ebook downloads of An Earl by Any Other Namehttp://bit.ly/2t56MZl

 

Reckoning by Shana Figueroa #ReleaseBlitz #Review

Reckoning by Shana Figueroa #ReleaseBlitz #ReviewReckoning by Shana Figueroa
Published by Forever Yours on July 11th 2017
Pages: 304
Format: eBook
Amazon//B&N//iBooks//Google Play//Kobo
Goodreads
four-half-stars

Hell hath no fury like Valentine . . .
Five years. It's been five years of blissful peace for private eye Valentine Shepherd and her hot-ass husband, Max Carressa. Five years of watching their twins grow up healthy and happy, even as Val waits for Hell to unleash its fury. Her enemies have been planning, and Val knows she doesn't have nearly enough weapons to protect her family . . .
Yet Val and Max have one advantage---their insatiable desire for each other allows them to see into the future, and the visions they share may just give them a chance. But as events are set into motion that endanger everyone Val's ever loved, she'll do whatever it takes to stop the horror she's already seen---even if it means her end.

Find the Author: Website, Twitter, Facebook
Review
Reckoning is the final book in the Valentine Shepherd series by Shana Figueroa. It’s a supernatural romance/suspense novel and it’s phenomenal. I don’t normally read this genre since the few I have managed to read have felt dumbed down especially compared to this series.
Val and her husband, Max, know that hell is going to unleash its fury eventually. It’s been 5 years of peace that has allowed them to watch their twins grow but Val knows her enemies are plotting their revenge. She also knows there is no way she will be able to protect everyone she loves. The desire between her and Max gives them an advantage- being able to see visions of the future; which will help them but it may not be enough.
I loved this entire series and this book wrapped that up nicely. I am always afraid to read the final book in any series because I am afraid I will not like how it ends. I thought Reckoning ended in a way that gives the author the opportunity to revisit this world at a later date if she so chooses. I love the chemistry between Val and Max and we don’t lose any of that throughout. I also love when Val goes on a warpath and the deaths start stacking up. That makes me sound like a sadist but trust me if you read this series you will understand what I mean. I’d recommend everyone give this series a try even if the genre isn’t your usual. You might be surprised.

About Shana Figueroa

Shana Figueroa is a published author who specializes in romance and humor, with occasional sojourns into horror, sci-fi, and literary fiction.

She lives in Massachusetts with her husband, two young daughters, and two old pugs. She enjoys reading, writing (obviously), martial arts, video games, and SCIENCE---it's poetry in motion! By day, she serves her country in the US Air Force as an aerospace engineer. By night, she hunkers down in a corner and cranks out the crazy stories lurking in her head.

She took Toni Morrison's advice and started writing the books she wanted to read. Hopefully you'll want to read them, too!

four-half-stars

Royal Treatment by Parker Swift #ReleaseBlitz #Review

Royal Treatment by Parker Swift #ReleaseBlitz #Review

Royal Treatment by Parker Swift #ReleaseBlitz #ReviewRoyal Treatment by Parker Swift
Published by Forever Yours on June 13th 2017
Pages: 288
Amazon//B&N//iBooks//Google Play//Kobo
Goodreads
four-stars

"Addictive, sexy and beautifully written. I can't get enough. 5 erotic stars" -Vi Keeland, #1 New York Times Bestselling Author on Royal Disaster

All this duke needs is his duchess...
For five blissful months I've been engaged to Dylan Hale, the most handsome, commanding, and wickedly sexy duke in England. For five months I've woken up next to the man I love, indulged in secret trysts, and submitted to every delicious desire. Even better? We've managed to keep it hidden from everyone. That means no paparazzi scandals, no snide comments from Dylan's mother, and no harsh public scrutiny. It's been heaven, but with Dylan's royal responsibilities looming, our time alone is running out. And while I can't wait to be Dylan's wife, I'm terrified that becoming Dylan's duchess might mean losing myself.
The Royal Scandal series: Royal AffairRoyal DisasterRoyal Treatment

Find the Author: Twitter, Instagram
Review
I’ve enjoyed seeing Lydia and Dylan’s relationship change and blossom throughout this series. I have to admit that I didn’t expect it to change as much throughout but I am really glad it did. I wasn’t sure how their story would end but I thought Royal Treatment gave them the perfect conclusion. I loved seeing Lydia focus on her career and her character development was excellent. I was glad to see more Dylan’s POV and get more insight into his character as well. Overall, I thought this book was great and would highly recommend this entire series.

About Parker Swift

Parker Swift grew up in Providence, Rhode Island, and then grew up again in New York, London, and Minneapolis and currently lives in Connecticut. She has spent most of her adult life examining romantic relationships in an academic lab as a professor of social psychology. Now, she's exploring the romantic lives of her fictional characters in the pages of her books. When she's not writing, she spends her time with her bearded nautical husband and being told not to sing along to pop music in the car by her two sons.

four-stars

Abandoned by Rhonda Pollero #Excerpt

Abandoned by Rhonda Pollero #ExcerptAbandoned (Finding Justice, #2) by Rhonda Pollero
Published by Forever Yours on June 4th 2017
Pages: 288
Amazon//B&N//iBooks//Google Play//Kobo
Goodreads

There is nothing more dangerous than desire…
Emma McKinley is a bright young lawyer with a very dark secret: She’s the daughter of an assassin. Twenty years ago, her father shot and killed the president and Emma has been desperate to understand why ever since. She’s changed her name, moved around…but the past keeps hunting her down. First came an irresistible job offer, luring her back where the assassination occurred. And now Emma is receiving mysterious newspaper clippings about the shooting as a terrible reminder—and a deadly threat…
Sheriff Conner Kavanaugh has been burned before. But from the moment he meets Emma, there’s something about her he can’t resist. Something is haunting her—that much is clear. And as the threats against her mount, he’ll do anything to protect her and win her trust. If the past doesn’t catch up to them first.

Find the Author: Website, Twitter, Facebook
Excerpt

A week had passed since Emma had last seen Conner. Well, that wasn’t exactly true: They’d passed one another at the courthouse a few times but he’d done little more than tip his hat in her direction.

Of course she couldn’t decipher a hat tip. Did that mean great kiss or that kiss was so bad I’ve decided to join the clergy? Still, she understood avoidance and Conner was definitely avoiding her. And she was returning the favor. Emma stayed late at the office every night, ensuring she’d miss Conner when he came to pick up Sam after her tutoring sessions.

She sighed heavily and went back to the pile of folders on her desk. Thanks to the long hours, she was completely caught up and was considering going out for a bite for dinner when she heard a noise.

Looking up, she saw Conner standing in her doorway. Hatless, he wore his uniform and a broad grin. “Evening,” he greeted her.

“Hi.” It suddenly seemed difficult for her to breathe normally, so the word came out sounding sultry and embarrassingly alluring.

His answer started with a sexy half-smile. “I’m here on a mission.”

“Mumm-humm.” She didn’t trust her voice. Not when he looked so good in his uniform. “I’m supposed to take you out to dinner.”

Blinking, she looked up at him. “What?”

“Jeanine told Mary that you rarely eat dinner. Mary told George—he’s the gardener for the Burkes—who told Stella, who told me.”

“I thought you didn’t get involved with gossip.”

“I’m making an exception this time. Grab your purse and let’s get out of here.”

“I have work to do,” she protested.

“You’re probably ahead of your workload. C’mon, Emma. Live dangerously.”

She took her purse and briefcase out of the bottom drawer of her desk, then took another minute to freshen her lipstick. “Stella’s or the rib place—which makes an amazing Cobb salad.”

He chuckled. “Who orders a salad from a rib joint?” He shifted his weight to one leg and leaned into the jam. “There’s a decent seafood place two counties over. Game?”

She tilted her head. “Are you asking me out on a date?”

“I never used the word ‘date.’”

“But what you described sure sounds like a date.”

He sighed. “Okay, yes. I’m inviting you to dinner.”

“See? Was that so hard?” Emma asked smugly. She stood and gathered her purse and her briefcase.

“Actually, yes.”

* * *

She went to pass him and he grabbed her arm. She looked up and their eyes locked. Then ever so slowly, he dipped his head and brushed his warm lips against hers. He could feel her tense at first, then relax as he deepened the kiss. It was a good thing he’d wrapped his arms around her because she relaxed in his grip.

He could feel the heat of her body through the thin fabric of her blouse; he could feel the contours of her waist before his hand moved lower and gave her firm butt a gentle squeeze. His tongue sparred with hers and he could taste her uneven breathing. Conner had expected a reaction, but not to this degree. Knowing how much she wanted him stroked his ego, among other things.

But then he allowed his past to creep in. His first wife, Lisa, had kept up the pretext of their marriage all while she was having an affair with her boss. He didn’t know enough about Emma to even think about trusting her yet.

He gently set her away and smiled down at her flustered face. “This could get addictive,” he said, reluctantly dropping his hands to his sides.

“Yes…well…What about dinner?” Emma glanced down at her wrist. “It’s after nine.”

“We can make it. Shrimpers stays open until eleven.”

“And no one will see us there?” she asked.

He shook his head and his smile broadened. “Don’t worry. No wagging tongues will know I took the new girl to dinner.”

“New girl?” she repeated, lips pursed.

He shrugged. “It’s not a terrible nickname.”

“What about calling me by my name?”

“What’s the fun in that? We’ll take my car,” he said as they approached the elevator.

“Won’t someone see us?”

“Most of Purdue rolls up for the night by nine.”

About Rhonda Pollero

After selling her first romantic suspense in 1993, Rhonda Pollero has penned more than 30 novels, won numerous awards and nominations, and landed on multiple bestseller lists, including USA Today, Bookscan, and Ingram’s Top 50 List. She lives in south Florida with her family.

Riot Street by Tyler King #ReleaseBlitz #Review

Riot Street by Tyler King #ReleaseBlitz #Review

Riot Street by Tyler King #ReleaseBlitz #ReviewRiot Street by Tyler King
Published by Forever Yours on April 30th 2017
Pages: 352
Format: eBook
Amazon//B&N//iBooks//Google Play//Kobo
Goodreads
five-stars

A new contemporary romance from Tyler King Also by Tyler King:The Debt
"I've fallen in love with Tyler King's writing style and absolutely can't wait for her next book. Whatever it is, I'll be buying it! If you're looking for a swoony, addictive romance with just the right balance between angst, heartbreak, and hilarity, with light-hearted banter, a sexy love story, but also some serious and darker themes, then you have to try this book!"--Aestas Book Blog on The Debt
Sometimes, getting in too deep is the only way to survive . . .As darkly charismatic as he is unpredictable, Ethan Ash knows me better than I know myself. He's spent years unraveling the family scandal I've tried desperately to escape. I once thought that made us adversaries. Now he's the closest ally I have left.
Ethan's both the chaos around me and the deep, calm center where I feel safe. People warn me about him, tell me he's dangerous. Don't fall for him. But it's too late. Because I can't tell where my addiction ends . . . and his obsession begins.

Find the Author: Website, Facebook
Review
Riot Street is an incredible story. It’s complex and gives you such an in-depth look into both main character’s lives that it is extremely hard to put down.
Ethan wrote about Avery’s childhood and is part of the reason she’s had so many doors opened to her that might not have otherwise been there. She is wary of him at first because he does know all about her life and might even know more than she can even remember. The chemistry between these two is so intense however that it is only a matter a time before she opens up to him. It’s almost like they are addicted to each other and neither can’t break that. Only time will tell if it will last.
The writing is phenomenal! I couldn’t wait to devour every word. I really enjoyed getting to know these characters and couldn’t wait to find out what happened next. This is a definite must read.

About Tyler King

Tyler King was born and raised in Orlando, Florida and graduated from the University of Central Florida with a degree in Creative Writing. As a journalist, her work has appeared in Orlando magazine and Orlando Business Journal, among other publications. She is a proud army spouse currently living in Virginia with her husband.

five-stars

Live Out Loud by Marie Meyer #ReleaseBlitz

Live Out Loud by Marie Meyer #ReleaseBlitz

Live Out Loud by Marie Meyer #ReleaseBlitzLive Out Loud by Marie Meyer
Published by Forever Yours on May 2nd 2017
Pages: 320
Amazon//B&N//iBooks//Google Play//Kobo
Goodreads

I thought I'd live in silence forever . . . and then I met him.
I'll never be able to hear, but music has always been a source of comfort for me. Rather than listen to the rhythm, I can actually feel the beat pulsing through me. It's pure bliss. So the moment I saw Thorin playing his guitar, I was mesmerized. I'd never seen anything more beautiful . . . or intimate. I couldn't tell where his body ended and the song began. He's everything I need in my life . . . I'm falling fast, hard, and deep.
I want him more than anything. But while I live in silence, Thor lives in secrets. He's holding something back-something that's keeping this intensity, this longing from being real. And the silence may be too loud to bear . . .

Find the Author: Website, Facebook
Excerpt

Shit, sweetheart, where’s the fire?

“Hey, Red, hold up,” I say, trying to get her attention. I don’t want to startle her, but it’s no use, she can’t hear me over the noise of the club. If I don’t stop her now, she’ll leave and I won’t get her number. I drop my hand onto her shoulder and she goes rigid under my touch.

Smooth, Kline. Way to scare the poor girl.

Very slowly, she turns around, almost as if she’s expecting to see the Grim Reaper standing behind her. When our gazes meet, her shoulders relax and she lets out a deep breath. Up close, she’s even more beautiful. And Jesus…her eyes. When I caught her gaze for a few seconds on stage, I knew there was something special about her eyes; I just couldn’t see them clearly. Up close, they’re extraordinary. I’ve never seen eyes like hers before…the color of emerald sea glass. A long forgotten memory surfaces, one of my earliest…walking along the beach as a kid…with my dad…before everything went to hell.

I shake off the phantom thought and focus on the girl. “Sorry. Didn’t mean to scare you. It’s just…I…” I stumble over my words like I’m a thirteen-year-old boy. What the hell’s my problem? She’s not the first chick you’ve ever talked to. Spit the damn words out, Thor. “I saw you while I was up on stage, and I was hoping to get your number, I’d really like to take you out sometime.”

There. I said it. Not hard.

She smiles widely and nods. Lifting her hands between us, I notice her fingers move. Graceful and deliberate hand motions. Is she using sign language?

“She can read your lips.”

I glance to my right. A tall girl with long, half black, half blond hair flanks her side. Pretty, but pales in comparison to her friend.

“Read my lips?” I shake my head, not understanding. I point to the redheaded beauty and direct my question to her friend. “She’s deaf?”

There’s a tap on my shoulder and my eyes snap back to Red’s. Moving her hands again, she signs something, and I’m clueless. Her lips move, but she doesn’t speak. And apparently, I’m shit at lipreading. But at least her expression is playful. That’s a plus, right?

She lowers her arms and smiles. Damn, I love how the right side of her lips pulls up higher than the left.

I’ve never had to chase down a girl. For some reason, chicks dig guys in a band. They’ve always pursued me. But, the one time I see a girl so gorgeous, and take the time to run after her, she can’t even hear me.

I look at her friend. “What did she just say?”

Red’s friend folds her arms over her chest, wearing the same beatific smile she did when I stopped them. “She answered your question. Yes, she’s deaf. She also asked if you still want her number.”

I stare at the girl. With wild red curls framing her face and a mischievous smirk, she waits for my answer. Hell yeah, I do.

About Marie Meyer

Marie Meyer is a teacher who spends her days in the classroom and her nights writing heartfelt romances. She is a proud mommy and enjoys helping her oldest daughter train for the Special Olympics, making up silly stories with her youngest daughter, and bingeing on weeks of DVR'd television with her husband.